Aveeno : Clear Complexion Daily Moisturizer

Brand:
Reviews
3.7
140 Reviews

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid (0.5%). Inactive Ingredients: Arachidyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Behenyl Alcohol, BHT, Bis Phenylpropyl Dimethicone, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, C13 14 Isoparaffin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Fragrance, Glycerin, Glycine Soja Seed Extract (Soybean), Isoceteth 20, Laureth 7, Methyl Gluceth 20, Polyacrylamide, PPG 10 Cetyl Ether, Water.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
38.6%
4
26.4%
3
12.9%
2
8.6%
1
13.6%

Used Aveeno : Clear Complexion Daily Moisturizer? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
March 13, 2017
Wow
I recently moved back to Canada (yes in the middle of winter) and quickly developed dry winter skin. I needed a moisturizer desperately. I am always worried about adding new products to my face as I (adult 46 year old female) have acne prone skin. I bought Aveeno Clear Complexion and I have to say WOW. Not only did it do a great job at moisturizing but it actually cleared up my skin better. It is light and has a mild scent. I use it at night and in the morning after my regular face wash. I plan to stock up. I can't say enough about this product.
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 28, 2016
break outs
I love how this moisturizer feels and smells. it's thick enough that it gets rid of flakey skin. however, I got a few small painful under the skin type bumpies just days after using this. that being said, i have broken out from every moisturizer i have tried and am still searching for the one. thankfully I was patch testing it on my chin. I've succumbed to temptation and have purchased this more than once over the years(aveeno stuff just looks so nice to me), but it just doesn't work for me. I wanted to add that I don't believe this moisturizer is at the correct ph for the salicylic acid to truly exfoliate, so no I don't think it was purging or anything of that sort. wish it would have worked for me!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 19, 2016
Magic moisturizer!
I have been using the clear complexions cream for 10 yrs now and i have never stoped using it since. It is amazing. Ppl have always complemented my makeup but its not the make up. I apply the moisturizer before bedtime and i have acne scars from years back when i was a teen. With the aveeno they are less noticeable. my skin looks brighter n dewy. Only thing is it makes ur eyes water for the whole day if u ever get it in ur eyes. So i always make sure i dont have aveeno on my hands when im using my fingers to apply my makeup. Its a bit expensive but it really works on me.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 22, 2015
HORRIBLE
I used this stuff once upon a time, and it didn't work well for me. The first time, I was already broken out, so I didn't attribute my breakouts to this; I just switched to another moisturizer because I was a product junkie and was trying anything I could to clear up my skin. Over the last couple of years, my skin has gotten better. It was at its best about 6 -12 months ago, and I wasn't even wearing face makeup when I went out. I felt so free. Unfortunately, I happened to use this stuff again when I went to my parents' house and saw it in my mom's bathroom. The great smell and product claims on the bottle sucked me in again, and I bought 2 bottles. I began breaking out horribly (blocked pores and inflammatory acne), but didn't realize this was the cause until I was practically done with the first bottle. I stopped using it a few weeks ago and have had no new breakouts but have been left with hyperpigmentation (I'm a horrible picker) that has left me not wanting to go out in public. I have to wake up a bit earlier for work to spend time covering about 30 marks and even an open wound on my forehead that is unsightly. It's been a while since I've had to do that, and I hate it. I've vowed to never purchase this product again and to get rid of my other bottle before I forget what happened, convince myself it wasn't so bad, and start using it again. Truly, the best moisturizer for me is the neutrogena basic one without any sunscreen. Even the Walmart equate version works well for me. But I just don't react as well to moisturizers that make special claims or have spf. Be careful with this stuff. Most people like it, but I despise it! Fyi, 29/f with acne prone normal to oily skin.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 24, 2015
A no regret purchase
One of the best moisturizers I have ever purchased! It is fairly expensive, but it has lasted me nearly 5 months. I react very badly to Benzoyl Peroxide and was glad to find that this contained Salicylic Acid. It doesn't necessarily prevent any breakouts for me, but it keeps them at bay. It's moisturizing, gentle, and absorbs well into the skin. It also smells very nice, which is a bonus! It evens out my complexion too, and gets rid of any patchy dry spots. Overall, I recommend this as a daily moisturizer for anybody,
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 13, 2015
Fairly impressed ☺
I suffered from acne pretty bad from 12-17. Now i get the occasional break out. Well recently I have been battling a break out that wouldn't go away. I can't use benzoyle peroxide because its to harsh on my very sensitive skin. And all the other brands with Salicylic acid dried it out or didn't help any. But after using this for 4 days my skin is amazing!! It looks evenly toned and all my spots, redness, and dry skin are almost gone!! Being a 22 yr old male I was questioning even considering a women's product. But I don't regret it now!!
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 9, 2014
Made my skin worse

Cons:

Caused acne
Didn't clear up skin

Used it for a month and it broke me out, adding new pimples to my face.
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 21, 2012

Pros:

doesn't break me out
smells amazing
moisturizing, feels nice on skin
can be put on morning and nighttime

Cons:

doesn't seem to clear up acne especially
salicylic acid too weak, but this way it can be used twice a day
expensive compared to other moisturizers

Slightly on the expensive side, so I'm looking for a stronger lotion with benzoyl peroxide for when this lotion runs out, but I will keep using it until it does
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Sean
October 29, 2012
my acne finally cleared up and I needed a moisturizer but was wary of it making me break out. I figured since this 1 was for acne it wouldn't break me out but it did :( once I stopped my skin cleared up again
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
MB
October 28, 2012
One thing I forgot to add to my previous review - the thing that makes this item work the best for me is because it uses salicylic acid (the mellow stuff) instead of benzoyl peroxide (the harsh stuff). I don't know if maybe I just got a special brand or if all of Aveeno's Clear Complexion bottles are like this but that definitely makes the difference - benzoyl peroxide is definitely terrible for sensitive skin, which is why I love that Aveeno items are always mild yet effective and dermatologist-approved.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report