None : Castor Oil

Brand:
Reviews
4.6
10 Reviews

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
80%
4
10%
3
0%
2
10%
1
0%

Used None : Castor Oil? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
October 25, 2019
What to do/not to do

(Jump to *** for what I did that worked to treat cysts)

I got two random cysts on my chin right next to one another. I hadn’t had one in a long while, so I couldn’t remember what to do with them. I panicked and reacted by applying a lot of heat and packing on sulfur spot treatment constantly for a couple of days. One came to a head, but barely anything came out and it just closed back up again, red and angry as ever. My boyfriend told me that he would prefer to see the red spots than the Sulfur stuff on my face, so I gave it a rest. While hiding in the dark and moping, I remembered a holy grail that I discovered long ago (how I forget these things, I’ll never know!) - castor oil. 

In past, I put castor oil on and covered it with a bandaid overnight, and I’m sure that worked decently well. I’m allergic to band aid adhesive though, so it would cause other issues instead. 

Unfortunately this time the whole top layer of my skin was dried out from the heat and spot treatment, so I set myself back quite a ways. I cleansed the area with just a cloth with cold water to remove the dry and dead skin so that the oil could get in there and work it’s magic. I re-applied the oil often in this time until the skin softened up again, which took just under 48 hours. So let that be a lesson: don’t dry it out because you’ll put yourself way back!

***I read both in reviews and on the bottle of castor oil that applying heat could help, but I found that the cloth just absorbed the oil, and I wasn’t sure how much it was really helping my skin to have the warm cloth directly on it again. On a whim, I applied a thick layer of oil on the cysts and put plastic film (I cut a small strip from a bread bag) over the oil/cysts and then applied the warm compress over that. This time around, I made sure that the compress wasn’t too hot, and I did so by touching the cloth to my elbow to test the heat first (I heard this is how you test heated items for babies, so made sense). Left the warmth to do its thing for about 15-20 min, and then kept the oil and film in place since then. It’s been only a couple of hours since I did that and the cysts have already flattened and calmed quite a bit! It’s not a miracle cure - they are still there, but FAR less noticeable than before. I had never tried this method before and I don’t condone the use of plastic wrap, but this also seems to have done a better job than anything I’ve ever tried before, including other methods of applying castor oil. 

I’ve generally halted my cystic jawline and neck acne by doing a low GI diet (I still cheat sometimes, but only after I was strict for long enough to clear up, eating more whole foods, and drinking golden mylk. Touch wood, but it’s been a couple of years with no relapse, UNLESS I eat items I’m sensitive to (dairy, eggs, and peanuts). In this case, I had been living off of peanut granola bars (peanuts and high GI) during exam periods at school.  

March 21, 2019
Castor Oil Changed My Life

I started using castor oil three years ago to help in my decade long fight against cystic acne. Every month, I was getting anywhere between one to four new cysts that would take weeks to heal. It was painful, emotionally draining and literally scarring (both hypo-pigmentation and depressed scars). Since finding castor oil, my acne cysts are no longer an issue. When I do feel them coming on, I put castor oil on them (as much as I can throughout the day and night), and 99.999% of the time, they go away. If they don't completely go away, the red marks are only an issue for a day or two. I have only received a few cortisone shots over the last few years thanks to the benefits of castor oil. It has prevented further scarring on my face, and is an excellent moisturizer to boot. I use it at night because I don't like the thick texture when I'm awake. It keeps my skin first, and I mix it with frankincense, myrrh and helicrysum oils to help prevent aging. 

 

I can't recommend castor oil enough to everyone. Especially those suffering from cystic acne.

February 17, 2018
Generally a good call
Castor oil is known to have both anti microbial and anti inflammatory properties, so it's definitely worth a try (as long as you get a good quality oil, not the grocery store brand). For those who oil cleanse, castor oil is immensely popular. It has a low comedogenic rating, but please don't take this to mean that it will absolutely not cause pimples: I've used castor oil a decent number of times on my face, both alone and mixed with a thinner oil, and never had any related skin/pore issues until one day recently. Even though the likelihood of the castor oil causing clogged pores was low, it is possible and I did wake up one day after using castor oil at night with several small whiteheads. This won't stop me from using the oil occasionally but despite its beneficial qualities, this is still an oil and ought to be patch tested before slathering it all over your face.
February 6, 2018
Makes you hairy!
Castor oil is amazing for acne but it causes hair to grow on your face.
February 17, 2018
There is actually no clinical evidence for this, just anecdotal stories. Most people can use castor oil on skin with no ill effects (unless someone has had a reaction to castor oil in the past).
May 6, 2018
Sounds more like genetics or an oral/topical medicine side effect.
March 17, 2017
Amazed at the effects
Surprisingly amazed at the results of such a thick oil. At first i believed such a thick oil would not only make my spots more inflamed , but give me more spots but I was wrong!! It healed my bigger spots quicker than my usual treatment options and it made my skin look more glowy, improved my skin tone and just made my feel skin feel better. Up until i discovered castor oil i used benzyl peroxide creams. They worked very well in helping my acne however i found when i did get the odd cyst like pimple. BP creams made them more inflamed and made my skin look dull because i overapplied the creams assuming they would get rid of the pimples. But castor oil is the complete opposite. Heals the pimple quickly without the horrible drying out of a pimple
This Was Helpful

22 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 1, 2016
worked for me :)
I suffered with acne for years and tried a lot of products. I mix 30% castor oil with 70% carrier oil and smooth it over my face. I then take a hot flannel and place on my face and the steam pulls the oil out which also pulls the dirt and acne out I think? Totally amazing :) if I stop using this technique I get a few spots again.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 28, 2016
What did you use for carrier oil?
Justine
March 13, 2012

Pros:

It's hands down the best thing I've EVER used to clear up my acne!

Cons:

Messy (but who cares!)

LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I'm 26 and have suffered with acne for 10+ years. I've tried everything (both prescription and homeopathic) and have had little success. I recently saw a Chinese Herbalist in the Pittsburgh area and she recommended rubbing organic, cold-pressed CASTOR OIL on my face and abdomen daily (at night). I thought it sounded weird but did it anyway and it WORKED SO WELL! I use about 1/2 tsp on my face and 1-2 tsp on my stomach and chest (you put it on your abdomen to promote healthy digestion which can also help clear the skin). * as an fyi - I read females should not use castor oil during menstruation cycles
This Was Helpful

41 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 6, 2016
How long did it take you to see results?
October 7, 2011

Pros:

Best thing I've found to use on cystic acne! Reduces cyst time, heals quick, softens skin. Supposed to help with scarring too!

Cons:

A little time consuming.

I use home health, organic cold pressed castor oil. It took me a few weeks to finally figure out what works best for my skin. I massage on my face for about 10 mins then apply a hot, wet washcloth for at least 30 mins (reheating obviously, as well as reapplying castor oil 1-2 more times. I then follow up with something called Miracle II neutralizer gel which is like aloe vera but better! I do that in the morning and at night but before bed I've been applying castor oil to cyst areas, covering with gauze and sleeping with it on. I don't think there's such a thing as too much castor oil, my skin hasn't looked this good since February of this year and I can actually touch it without feeling pain :)
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
January 13, 2011

Pros:

Works great as a cleanser better than anything on the market...heals acne and sofen skin like never before

Cons:

a little messy only use a small amount

make sure you steam face for about 20mins rub a small amount on face and leave on over night; use a towel your pillow case; in two weeks u will def have less ance and better skin; castor oil great for ance prone oilly skin
This Was Helpful

16 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Pia
September 17, 2010

Pros:

cheap treatment for acne. Put it on spots, preferibly at night. Use a Q-tip to apply.

Cons:

messy, make sure to cover up the pillow.

No side effects topical treatment
This Was Helpful

16 user(s) found this helpful

Report