Brevoxyl : Benzoyl Peroxide (4% or 8%) Creamy Wash

Brand:
Reviews
3.9
95 Reviews

Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide (4%) or (8%). Inactive Ingredients: Cetearyl Alcohol, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Glycerin, Glycolic Acid, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Imidurea, Lactic Acid, Methylparaben, Mineral Oil, PEG-14M, Potassium Lauryl Sulfate, Potassium Phosphate, Purified Water, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium PCA, Titanium Dioxide, Zea.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
32.6%
4
42.1%
3
14.7%
2
7.4%
1
3.2%

Used Brevoxyl : Benzoyl Peroxide (4% or 8%) Creamy Wash? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 5, 2014
Seems to be doing the trick!

Pros:

Clears Skin
Easy to use

Cons:

It is drying, but then thats how it works

I am one of those unfortunate people who have suffered from mild to moderate acne since my early teen years. When I was young I was prescribed clindamycin by my derm, and it did the trick throughout my teen years upto my second year in college, when my acne suddenly became of a different variety, leaving dark red marks behind, ensuring I always wore concealer, which led to a vicious cycle. Fast forward a year out of college, and I decided to get to the bottom of my skin issues. I consulted a bunch of derms, who all prescribed me the usual suspects: Retin A, Adapalene, Tretinoin Pills, Oral Antibiotics, Benzyl Peroxide and Clindamycin. I was very clear that I didn't want to ingest anything for my acne, and both Retin A and Adapalene broke me out really badly when I first started using them. I know that they are supposed to, but for me this was so bad that I didn't want to get out of bed and go to work. However, I found that using the combination of 5% Benzyl Peroxide and 1% Clindamycin cleared my skin, including the really painful cystic acne I used to get, but it made my skin very very painfully itchy. Even with lots of moisturizer. I persisted and kept using the combination for a few months, which led to completely clear, but extremely itchy skin. I would be sitting in a meeting, and I just couldn't stop itching my face. I realized that I was going to go mad itching my skin and stopped. And within a month of stopping, the acne came back with a vengeance. I decided that I should try the non-chemical route, and tried a bunch of natural products like sandalwood powder, turmeric, tree tea oil and neem oil. Needless to say, my skin got from bad to worse, with neem oil giving me a horrendous outbreak. At this point I gave in and went back to 5% BP , which started clearing my outbreak, but was making me super itchy as usual. I was talking my my mom about my ordeal, and she suggested I just wash off the BP cream after an hour. Which is when I thought, for the very first time, are there face washes with Benzyl Peroxide in them? And that is how I found Brevoxyl. I have only been using it for a week, and its such a huge relief. I no longer have to suffer from the itchiness of the BP gel, while this facewash continues clearing my skin of pimples. I have been using it twice daily, and it does make your skin dry, so I moisturize afterwards. I am very very thankful to have found a product that is clearing up my skin after years and years!!!
This Was Helpful

18 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 6, 2015
For how long brevoxyl is kept on face before washing it off ?
July 31, 2018
I visited to doc n he suggested me to use twice a day for 3 to 5 min on face n 15 min on back
KERI
March 15, 2013

Pros:

BEST PRODUCT FOR ACNE

I LOVE BREVOXYL ITS SO EFFECTIVE !!! I got rid of all my pimples!! now I got my confidence back! My face is sooooo flawless!!! LOVE IT!!!
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Matt
December 17, 2009

Pros:

None

Cons:

After a few days of use, my jawline felt abnormally tight, but not necessarily dry. A few days later the area I was washing began to peel like a snake shedding its skin

I was very optimistic trying this product after reading so many good reviews on here. However I had an awful experience with this stuff. My skin peeled so badly that my face was red and raw. I used cetaphil cream (the heavy stuff) and that helped a little. I was using it once a day. I have since switched to Epiduo and have seen great results
mindy
November 30, 2009

Pros:

It did wonders for me, But I was also taking birth control, both combined I had maybe one zit a month.

Cons:

dried my skin out and made me look a little red cheeked

Help81, did you try getting a higher dosage? The same thing happened to me before I got onto birth control and that was 4%. So my doctor put me on 8%, and I never got another zit after that, but birth control is seriously the acne wonder pill.
Garima
September 26, 2009

Pros:

clear skin

Cons:

initially i witnesses dry skin but it disappeared after a few months use

its a very good product...did wonders for me....
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Mae
September 14, 2009

Pros:

Clear skin!

Cons:

drying effect, I never had to wear a moisturizer then but it was well worth it!

Perfect Product! I love it! I used it for 2 weeks then my skin cleared up, then I just use twice a week or when I have breakouts especially during summertime.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
January 15, 2009

Pros:

Clears up my skin and keeps it consistently in good shape.I took antibiotics w/ this but the real magic came when I started using Creme de la Mer moisturizing lotion (NOT the creme, but the one in a pump). I've never had perfect skin until now.

Cons:

Drying, suggest a great moisturizer. Don't change everything at once or you won't be able to tell what is working or not working. Suggest getting used to Brevoxyl before changing your moisturizer out.

Buy Creme de la mer PUMP lotion with this. It's expensive but so worth the combined investment. And I never splurge on beauty gimics or "celebrity" products. But now, I never have to take antibiotics. Both Brevoxyl and Creme de la Mer have their own success stories. The two combined have saved my skin. I even failed with two courses of Acutane. So this was a huge success story for me!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Brian
November 9, 2008

Pros:

Its very drying, clears up all acne.

Cons:

sometimes the sides of my nose crack

it does what its designed to do
Mel
September 22, 2008

Pros:

The only wash that has ever cleared up my face! Occasional breakouts though. Product lasts a while, if you do not use more than needed, and work into a lather.

Cons:

Really dries out your face the fisrt 2 weeks but after those 2 weeks your face will be used to the product. Price varies depending on your insurace plan. Usually I pay $10 but I payed $50 once when my insurance did not cover it.

Pro Actvi just didn't cut it for me. I have been using Brevoxyl for 5 years and I will not use anything else. If you are able to, give the product a try. Yeah you will be really dry for a week or two (use an oil free moisturize) but you will see results in a few days, and the dryness will subside.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Silvia
August 5, 2008

Pros:

Texture of wash is fine and isn't too foamy when lathered and smell doesn't make me cough.
Cleared up most major acne and comedomes on jawline

Cons:

I have sensitive skin that dries out quickly with things like this so I had to use it once every other day at night. Moisturized with Cetaphil or a Neutrogena.

Worked well but I ran out of the perscrip and using just a gentle wash more ofter started working great for me! If I need to I will use it again
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report