Brevoxyl-4 : Benzoyl Peroxide (4%) Cream

Brand:
Reviews
3.9
70 Reviews

Active Ingredient:
Benzoyl Peroxide (4%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol and Macrogol Cetostearyl Ether, Simethicone Emulsion, Propylene Glycol Alginate, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Fragrance X-23304, Purified Water.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
28.6%
4
45.7%
3
15.7%
2
4.3%
1
5.7%

Used Brevoxyl-4 : Benzoyl Peroxide (4%) Cream? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
September 13, 2017
Excellent product self esteem saver!
Better than every other topical product I've tried - and I've tried nearly all of them. I know it's only 4% but if applied like dan says in his regimen it works absolutely brilliantly. I've suffered with acne my whole life and my self esteem has been saved by brevoxyl. Pleasant fragrance and sinks in quickly. Got a bit of dryness at first but moisturising helped and after a while so did the dryness. Great product.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 22, 2016
Fair enough!!
Not as efficient as 10% BPO but does it job.Not over drying if used properly.Upside is the fragrance is not bad as other benzoyl peroxide creams.It will treat the spots.but takes it time.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 14, 2014
Irritated sensitive skin
I used this product morning and night due to my normal skin care routine. I have very sensitive skin so I am often allergic to some ingredients in certain acne creams (for example Epiduo, another cream) causing me to break out horrifically. This happened with this cream. The first few days my skin was ok and the product made my skin feel very soft and smooth, but on the 5th day of using it I broke out awfully with irritated skin.
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 24, 2013
I love it!!!

Pros:

Works fast
Gets rid of your spots
Cheap

Cons:

Leaves you with dry skin

This month I've developed really bad acne on my chin. The spots were all red and I didn't even want to go out my house because they looked awful! So I ordered brevoxyl on eBay and it has really helped my spots! I'm on day three of using it and my spots are nearly all gone! I usually apply this twice a day leave it on at night and when I wake up use tea tree oil as well which helps :)
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 9, 2013
Worked amazingly for 1 year but acne returned

Pros:

Very gentle compared to other BP products
Free on NHS
Works well on moderate-mild acne

Cons:

takes ages to apply (I used two layers)
Started breaking out again after a year
runs out fast

After using Panoxyl 5% and getting a huge swollen red face I needed something more gentle-my dermotologist prescribed me brevoxyl for free on NHS. Despite brevoxyl being 4% I could apply two coatings of it and still not have any redness(used in conjunction with an oil-free moisturizer). As a result I cleared up almost completely and stayed that way for about a year before It became ineffective and I started breaking out again. I'm not sure about the reason why but I switched to epiduo and it has worked wonders. However, That's not to say that brevoyl wasn't an excellent non-irritating form of BP-you just have to use loads of it
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 27, 2013
Worked well

Pros:

Reduces acne
Cheap

Cons:

Prescription only (in the UK)
Discontinued product (UK)
Stains clothing/ pillows/ towels

It successfully reduced my comedonal acne/ clogged pores very well (but did not completely eliminate it), and I found the 4% strength didn't dry out my skin in comparison to other 5% benzoyl peroxide creams. It goes on smoothly to your skin but takes a bit of massaging to rub it in properly. It has been discontinued in the UK so I've stopped using it and found I am now breaking out so it shows the product was effective.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 10, 2013

Pros:

no pros

Cons:

My skin got really dry
My acne got a little worst

I started this treatement with a lot of positive thoughts but sadly it haven't done anything to my face. It just caused me a painful dryness. However ,I recommend it because as i see , this product has many fans. No product was good for me so I have started to take diane 35. I can't wait to see if it works.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Manu
March 29, 2013

Pros:

This is the only product that worked on my otherwise stubborn acne which i have been suffering for 15 years. I started using it along with a little amount of Retin A. Both prosucts were used on alternate days and i applied a simple moisturizer everyday. Never dried my skin out. Never experienced a break out after that. I have continued using it even on my TOTALLY CLEAR skin to prevent any breakouts.

Cons:

Makes skin red for a while but the redness goes after 10 mins of use

MUST TRY! i simply loved this product. This worked amazingly for me.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
March 28, 2013

Pros:

Cleared some of my pimples
Reduces redness

Cons:

Dries your skin (I recommend using Aveeno Daily Moisturising Lotion)
Stings at first
In the first week I got new pimples at places I usually wouldn't get (jawline, neck and back)

This has cleared my acne along with the face wash from Neutrogena (Acne Stress Control Power Cream Wash - I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT). I found that dabbing the cream onto the pimples worked best. Also, spread some on your face even if there aren't pimples in that area, because once your pimple disappears it will move somewhere else! After the cream dries I usually dab another dot onto the pimple. After that the pimple usually disappears within 2 days.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jess
February 27, 2013

Pros:

It starts to clear within the first day of using it, I found that if I used it twice a day it cleared a lot quicker!!

Cons:

can make my face feel a bit tingley after using it.

In the last few weeks i have had te most irrating forehead so itchy and i would scratch it and could feel the bumps hated it!! So i found this scream called Brevoxyl 4 in my room that my mum got me a while back and it has helped clear up in only 3 days!! I have not worn anything else i.e makeup for 3 days to work just this and it has done wonders!! I would recommend it to anyone!! no more red itchy sports on my head, acne or pimples!!! So happy overall!! :)
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 21, 2016
may i know how to use this cream. i just squeeze it into my fore-finger and just keep it on the area of acne and just leave it. i wont massage or spread it. is this a correct way of using the cream?