Finacea : Azelaic Acid (15%) Gel

Brand:
Reviews
3.8
42 Reviews

Active ingredient:
Azelaic Acid (15%).

Inactive ingredients:
Benzoic Acid, Edetate Disodium, 1,2-Diarachidoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine, Medium-Chain Triglycerides, Polyacrylic Acid (250000 mw), Polysorbate 80, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Water.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
50%
4
19%
3
9.5%
2
4.8%
1
16.7%

Used Finacea : Azelaic Acid (15%) Gel? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
February 6, 2019
Works, give it time

Finally a product that is working for my acne. After exhaustsing my dermatologists arsenal of topical medications, they gave this Finacea one last shot before putting me on Accutane. At first I wasn't pleased and didn't see much change, but kept using as prescribed (at night first for the first month, then morning and night since) and now at month 3, I have ZERO pimples. This is the first time my face has been clear in years. This cream has been a godsend. 

February 27, 2019

Hi. I just asked my dermatologist for a prescription.  It is very expensive unfortunately,  but I'm getting it anyway.  I hope I get good results...I'm at the end of my rope with my face. 

July 4, 2018
pros and cons
good for closed comedones, bad for inflammatory acne
November 13, 2017
Not good at all
This was the worst decision I ever could have made for my skin. I have been struggling with acne since I was about 12. I began seeing a dermatologist when I turned 20. After about a year of trying antibiotics and several topicals, I finally asked to be put on Accutane. I did a 10 month round of Accutane and my skin was clearer than ever and continued to be even after finishing it last April. However, I recently switched from being obsessed with my acne to being obsessed with my rosacea and the redness/papules associated with it. My derm recommended Finacea gel to combat the rosacea. Within a couple of days, my regularly clear skin has broken out in many painful, inflamed cysts.. worse than my acne ever was pre-Accutane. I am now terrified that I just ruined all of the progress I had made by using this one product for less than a week. Here's to hoping my acne does not come back with a vengeance and have to begin a second round of Accutane.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 10, 2017
A miracle drug!!
I have never had acne all my life and I am in my 50's, until now, I have Hormonal or Adult acne. I started to break out a couple of months ago and nothing that I bought cured it, so I went to a Derm, he gave me Spiro and a cream which didn't work. I then went to another Derm and she prescribed me Finacea 15% Foam. I had heard lots of people say that this burns when you apply it, but mine didn't. This is a miracle foam, I saw results in 3 days, my acne had subsided and my acne scars were clearing up so fast. Finacea Foam will dry your skin out a lot so you have to use a good moisturizer, so I use Cetaphil or CeraVa which are both very good. Finacea is a very expensive drug it runs about $225 per tube but if you have very good insurance you can afford it, with mine I had a co-pay of $20, so I'll be using this forever, try it please.
This Was Helpful

21 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 7, 2016
A Saviour for Me
I accidentally discovered Finacea after finally realising that my constant and worsening "breakouts" were actually pustular Rosacea, and reading up about the condition and treatments online (including here, thank you!). In Australia it is pharmacy medication but needs no prescription, and sells for only AUS$25, so I thought I would give it a try. I was a bit disappointed for the first few weeks as new pustules kept forming - some really nasty - but I persisted having read it can take 4-8 weeks to impact. Patience was rewarded. 8 weeks on and my skin is finally really settling down for the first time in years and almost blemish free. Pustules are few and much smaller and settle down faster. Most scaring is gone. I find a small amount of tingling but no major reactions. An absolute wonder!!!!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 29, 2016
Actually Works
I have been prescribed this 2 weeks ago for my acne and hyperpigmentation. My skin has honestly improved so so much. I apply it twice a day and i have not stinging or flaking, maybe I am lucky. From the start of using this I have had no new breakouts and my scars are fading. I think you should give it a go!!
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 9, 2016
are you still loving the finacea? have you noticed any sort of purging?
February 10, 2017
You are so right, a lot of people say that it stings and burns when they apply it to their face, when I apply I don't get anything. After 3 days my skin was almost perfect, the scars have disappeared and I haven't have any new acne, but I take mime in combination with Spiro (the pill) and I only pay $20 for it, my Health Insurance is great, I think people should not listen to everyone and try it first!
April 13, 2016
Causing redness and breakouts?
Azelaic Acid Gel- Finacea- Been using for about 2 weeks and redness has become worst and now I have a few good-sized isolated red inflamed pimples on my forehead and a cluster of red pimples as well, where I don't usually get acne. Started to break out on my cheek. The acne on my jaw went down a bit though which may have been hormonal? However, the cystic acne was on its way out though before finecea. It also itches like CRAZY after putting on so obviously avoid anywhere near eyes. I can't really speak to this improving my skin. I went from mild to moderate acne to now diffuse pimples and have to wear make-up to counteract the redness and discoloration. I don't know if this is the purging phase, as I really want it to work. Does anyone know how long this will last?
This Was Helpful

19 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 7, 2016
L O V E
Magic cream!! I completely love this stuff, clears redness and improves texture of skin after one use, have been using this for months and will continue doing so, definitely recommend!
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 9, 2016
are you still loving the finacea? have you noticed any sort of purging?
April 5, 2016
Terrible initial breakout
I'm really not a fan of this stuff. I'm typically impatient, but ever since I've been using this I've had persistent spots that simply wont go away, and new painful cysts sprout up all over my cheeks. I think if you have sensitive skin do not use this stuff. Its only been a week but I'm not keen on continuing because i have a life to live!
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 25, 2016
Works for me in combination with Retin-A
I started using Finacea while I was pregnant because I was having terrible breakouts and couldn't use the acne medications I was on prior to pregnancy. It definitely helped, even with crazy pregnancy hormones throwing my skin completely out of whack. My skin still wasn't perfect though, so after I finished breastfeeding, I added Retin-A to my routine. My skin has been 90-95% clear since. I have been using both for a year and a half now. I use Retin-A at night and Finacea in the morning.
This Was Helpful

16 user(s) found this helpful

Report