St. Ives : Apricot Scrub

Brand:
Reviews
3.7
58 Reviews

Water, Juglans Regia (Walnut) Shell Powder, Glyceryl Stearate, Glycerin, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Zea Mays (Corn) Kernel Meal, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, PEG 100 Stearate, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Fruit Extract, Cetyl Acetate, Polysorbate 60, Ceteareth 20, Acetylated Lanolin Alcohol, Carbomer, PPG 2 Methyl Ether, Phenethyl Alcohol, Triethanolamine, Methylisothiazolinone, Fragrance, Titanium Dioxide.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
34.5%
4
31%
3
13.8%
2
8.6%
1
12.1%

Used St. Ives : Apricot Scrub? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
August 18, 2015
Very irritating on my skin
I tried the St.Ives apricot scrub a couple times as a method to exfoliate my sebderm but after only 2 uses I had to throw this product away. It had a nice fragrance but that was pretty much the only redeeming quality. It caused my skin to redden and it irritated my whole face. I found the added exfoliants to be abrasive. I guess I prefer a chemical exfoliator. Very disappointed at the wasted money I shelled out to buy this.
October 10, 2014
Not good for sensitive skin
Gritty exfoliants always cause me to get little white bumps all over my face the following day. Everyone always says "thats just old stuff coming to the surface" but the shear volume of pus and the white color (white indicates brand new, old would be yellowish/hard) obviously indicates that it was an inflammatory response to the abrasive material in the scrub.
April 20, 2013

Pros:

• Gets rid of most blackheads and whiteheads
• Makes your skin feel amazingly smooth
• Smells nice

Cons:

• Slightly rough
• Would only recommend using 1-2 times a week as it can make small cuts in your skin
• Doesn't clear acne but helps with blackheads and whiteheads

I started using this about 3 years ago about 3-4 times a week but I stopped because it made my skin red and painful after usage. It still made my skin feel great but the pain wasn't worth it. This year I found my old tube sitting in my bathroom draw and decided to use it again. It felt amazing because it removed so many whiteheads and blackheads and left my skin feeling soft and less bumpy. The bottom line is, don't use it too many times a week, 1-2 times is enough for great results! Recommend this for people without sensitive skin :)
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 1, 2013

Pros:

-Makes skin smooth
-Gets dry patches off

Cons:

-Very abrasive
-Doesn't help with acne
-Irritates acne and skin

The number one rule for those with acne is to be gentle with the skin. No scrubbing, no wash cloths, etc. This product is everything you should not due. However, sometimes I get an area of peeling skin and it's nice to get all that skin off. Use limitedly.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 15, 2012

Pros:

Smooths skin
Exfoliates well
Refreshes and wakes you up
Inexpensive

Cons:

Abrasive
Hard to wash off without scratching skin

This is a great exfoliator, and really gets rid of dead skin cells. I love the fact that this helps other products penetrate better, so you really get the full experience without all the dead skin build up. I definitely wouldn't recommend this for anyone with sensitive skin, because it is so harsh. Afterwards it leaves my skin feeling refreshed, clean, and awake. I recommend to use this 3-4 times a week, not every day.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 28, 2012

Pros:

-smells good
-feels good
-exfolaties well

Cons:

-doesn't clear acne
-skin SOMETIMES gets red after using it

this is great if you don't have problematic skin if you do i don't recommend
July 1, 2012

Pros:

left skin feeling soft
Cleared up small pimples

Cons:

A bit harsh

This is a great exfoliator, though I wouldn't recommend using it everyday. The apricot particles scratch the surface of your skin, forcing it to stretch, and in turn, wrinkle faster. So, be careful not to scrub to hard on this, and I would say to only use it a few times a week.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Autumn
June 26, 2012

Pros:

-Exfoliates
-Makes skin feels smooth
-Nice smell

Cons:

-Dries skin baddddd
-Doesn't really clear skin.

Ok. So, I've used alot of products. Like really alot. Truthfully my skin is still breaking out. However, there are some things that help... This product worked nicely with my skin but over time is started drying it out really bad, but I did notice a difference in my acne, there was less of it. But, it wasn't really worth losing the natural shine of my skin. So, of course I wanted to get rid of some oil but I'd still like it to look healthy. So, I'd recommend only using it once a week, with moisturizer. Bottom line, it's an OK product but, to actually rid your acne use this once a week, a light moisturizer and epido works really well for me. Even though I still get black heads on my nose and pimples on my period my skin looks pretty clear and healthy. Good Luck!
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Tom
June 2, 2012

Pros:

-Skin feels fresh and light afterwards
-Exfoliator beads are very small and gentle
-Natural ingredients (Apricot, Ground Corn & Walnut)
-Smells nice
-Widely available and affordable

Cons:

-Sharp edges on packaging (seriously: they are SHARP!)

This is the only exfoliator I have ever used and it's served me quite well. It does a hell of a job - skin feels fresh and light afterwards, beads are small and gentle, and it even has a pleasant smell. Advice: use this in place of your facial cleanser every second or third day. Gently massage a good amount of the product into your skin, moving your hands in slow, circular motions. Take your time: at least a minute or two will maximize its effectiveness. Rinse off and smile! FIVE STARS To see my complete review and other product reviews, go to [link removed]
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
April 23, 2012

Pros:

cheap(always on sale)
exfoliates
cleanses well

Cons:

doesn't do anything of blackheads

This product works well for me. It won't get rid of your acne, it might help a bit because it cleanses it will prevent acne. I use this about 3-4 times a week because I don't want to over exfoliate. I usually use this product before doing a mask to open up my pores. I like the exfoliating beads, they do the job. Overall this isn't my favourite acne product but it's always in my bathroom because of it's price(4.50$ but it's always on sale for 2.99$! :))