Notifications
Clear all

Pregnancy Acne

MemberMember
(@saltedcaramels)

Posted : 04/12/2016 4:15 am

This is my first time to write anything online about my struggle with acne. I am not comfortable talking about it with other people, but I think I need some support even if it's only online with people who can relate and understand what I am going through.

I've dealt with Acne when I was a teenager. It was isolated on my forehead only. I have a hard time remembering in detail exactly how my situation was then but I remember having so many red bumps across my whole forehead. I was young and didn't know how to put on make up, so I just went along my daily life with all that acne. It made me very insecure and self conscious during highschool. I was recommended by a friend to go to a dermatologist that helped her. It was my first time to go to a dermatologist and didn't know what to expect. She did a facial and made me a strict regimen that I should follow for a few months. What I remember about the regimen was: Papaya soap for facial wash, Erythromicin Toner, Tretinoin with hydroquinone and sunblock in the morning. After a few months my acne completely disappeared. I had baby like skin without any hyperpigmentation. The only negative effect it had on my skin was that it got irritated easily. So I think these products made my skin thinner.

I had clear skin for 13 years after that. Ofcourse the occasional pimple, but nothing that really bothered me. Some stressful and life changing events happened, which I believe is the cause of my skin to breakout again. But this time it was on my cheeks and temples and some on my forehead. It was depressing to see me start getting acne again now that I am 28 years old. I was told by my Obgyn I might have PCOS. I did an ultrasound which showed I had many cysts on my ovaries, which confirmed my PCOS diagnosis. I also did measured my Testosterone and it was elevated, but still in the normal range.