Notifications
Clear all

Acne And Breastfeeding

MemberMember
(@hunniebun)

Posted : 09/13/2013 9:32 am

Hi There,

I am new to acne.org but have done a lot of reading on here over the last few years. I am 36 years old and have been suffering with hormonal acne for 5 years..since I stopped birth control pills and had my first child. I had taken various birth control pills from the time I was 16 and when I went off of them to conceive my first it was okay. I had the odd break out with my cycle, but nothing horrible. Once I got pregnant it got very bad, I assume from all those hormones. After he was born and weaned, I went back on the pill for 2 years and off again to conceive my second baby. It took nearly a year without B/C and again, my skin was okay...just the odd breakout with my cycle. Now nearly a year after my baby girl was born, I am still trying to find something that works for these painful cysts. During pregnancy, my Doctor prescribed Clyndimycin topically and it did help a bit I think. I feel like I have tried everything available over the counter and have spent hundreds (thousands maybe?) on systems, cleansers, make-up etc I am still breastfeeding and am trying to wean her, but it is taking longer than I thought. I am praying that once she is weaned and my hormones settle down again that things will improve. But in the mean time, I have started 250 mg of tetracycline per day and differin everyother day. I am in my first week of both, so have nothing to report, no side effects and no improvement either. I should also mention that I am a healthy weight, excercise serveral times per week, drink 8-10 glasses of water a day, I eat zero dairy, zero sugar, no things with white flour (I have been following the clear-skin diet book for a while now) and try to maximize eating of anti-inflamatory foods...but have seen no improvement. Anyhow, if you are with me so far in this long winded post, I was just looking for any other advice or suggestions, or for women with