Notifications
Clear all

Prolonged Use of Salicylic Acid

MemberMember
(@slappy-mutt-mutt)

Posted : 06/02/2006 8:59 pm

Will prolonged use of salicylic acid cause really dry irritated skin? I also heard that you can become immune to salicylic acid. Is this true?

MemberMember
(@the_snow_queen)

Posted : 06/03/2006 5:26 am

I've been using salicylic acid for five years. From my experience, no, it does not give me dry, irritated skin and no, I have not become immune to it.

Some people experience a temporary dry sensation, but this usually goes away after the skin gets used to salicylic acid (around two weeks or so). You also could experience dryness and irritation if you over-apply it. Salicylic acid can be applied as often as twice a day or as little as every other day, but the only way to determine what works best for you is to experiment. Another thing that can promote unwanted side effects is if you are using a product with too high of a salicylic acid concentration. Salicylic acid works best for daily use in strengths of between 0.5% and 2%, though most people prefer at least a 1% concentration.

However, if you are using a salicylic acid product that containis irritants like alcohol, peppermint, menthol, lavender, ylang ylang, mint, camphor, eucalyptus, clove, oregano, witch hazel, ginger, arnica, rosemary, citrus, and rose (to name a few), then yes, your skin will most likely experience dryness and irritation that is likely to get worse over time.

Please note that if you are using a salicylic acid product, it should have a pH of 4 or lower. Many salicylic acid products have a pH that is too high to allow for effective exfoliation or contain irritants and thus should not be used.

My favorite salicylic acid products come from Paula's Choice (called "beta hydroxy acid). They are not likely to cause irritation and are pH effective. They can be ordered at:

www.cosmeticscop.com

By the way, where did you hear these rumors about salicylic acid?

MemberMember