Notifications
Clear all

How Does One Fix Oily Skin?

MemberMember
(@aitrean)

Posted : 11/23/2014 12:09 am

Hello all,

Some preface: skip to tl;dr if you are not fond of reading too much

This is my first time posting in this forum, though I wish I had done so earlier. I have mild acne, but A LOT of scarring, mostly based on the cheeks. I am set to start laser resurfacing once I can stop my breakouts. I started getting very mild acne when I was 13. In an attempt to counter this, I would wash my face more often. My acne continued, so after a while we went to see a dermatologist, who prescribed 10% benzoyl peroxide and tetracycline. I applied the benzoyl peroxide and took the tetracycline religiously. There was a little relief at the beginning of the treatment, but then my skin continued to break out. As such, I just kept trying to wash my face more frequently. Starting about a year ago, I started washing my face 3-4 times daily, and finishing with the 10% benzoyl peroxide cream. Mind you, this was before I actually invested serious time into researching skin care. Not one of the brightest feats of mine. My acne continued in the areas where I used benzoyl, so I switched to only washing my face twice a day, but using two face washes, one with 2% salicylic acid, and the other with 5% benzoyl peroxide. My whole face broke out and I finally clued in. The biggest cause of my acne for the last few years has not been the fact that I had insufficiently washed, it was that I had excessively washed my skin, thus creating very oily skin which lead to more breakouts. All of my family has normal type skin, and although I really don't remember what skin type I was before recently, I am inclined to believe I was not genetically dispositioned to oily skin, but made myself oily-skinned.

tl;dr I excessively washed my face and used harsh products for several years, thereby making my skin oily, whereas it used to be normal.