Notifications
Clear all

Month 4 On Accutane.. Still Breaking Out Bad

MemberMember
(@gfalz555)

Posted : 12/25/2013 4:35 pm

Hey guys Im new to this acne thing so bear with me. Just a quick backrgound, I am 17 years old and had acne ever sine the 7-8th grade. It got really bad at the end of my junior year in highschool and kept on getting worse and worse. I decided to try accutane finally. The first 3 months were a living hell for me. nothing seemed to improve on my face because by the time a breakout went away another would show up right afterwards! So anyway I started to get really depressed not because the medicine was making me depressed but because of my terrible acne and I started to loose hope. now it is month 4 and my acne has improved very little since month 3 and I am still breaking out!!!!! i have huge cistic patches along my jaw line that just have stuck around for a solid month no joke. They just dont go away! am I doing something wrong? I wash my face twice a day and put moisturizer on daily and I drinks LOADS of water and I eat relatively healthy. Can someone help? please

oh and btw I am 17 male and about 140lbs. I am on 60 mg a day, 30 day and night.

MemberMember
(@cw24)

Posted : 12/25/2013 7:01 pm

Just ride it out man itll start getting better soon.

MemberMember
(@sdr-wellnesscoach)

Posted : 12/25/2013 8:39 pm

Does your healthy diet include Milk and Gluten/Soy (depending on your race)? They are the most common triggers.

As for Accutane, to me anyway, it doesn't sound like it's working for you. I had severe acne and it worked quite well. Of course I had 3 rounds because it kept coming back. Not until I found the cause of it did I finally stop it from returning.

MemberMember
(@gfalz555)

Posted : 12/27/2013 7:11 pm

I think i just need to up my dosage to 40 mg twice a day maybe?

MemberMember
(@lateactor)

Posted : 02/05/2014 11:21 am