Notifications
Clear all

Is This An Allergic Reaction To Bp?

MemberMember
(@obironpaulnobi)

Posted : 09/24/2013 11:13 am

Hi. I have a quick question if you would be so generous to respond to it. I've been using benzoyl peroxide for several years and have never expericenced a problem. I've been using the 3 step AcneFree, which is a proactiv clone. Recently I've noticed my face has been looking red some days and occasionally when applying the third step, the 3.7% bp, my face will burn for a few seconds. Now, the worst part, and I can't tell if it is BP related so this is why I'm asking. I picked up one of the acnefree foam cleansers for cheap on a sale, contains 2.5% bp and have been using it on my back, shoulders, and chest. I've been using it for about a week now, possibly week and a half. About three-four days ago after I was done working out I noticed my back, traps, shoulders were severely inflamed. It looked like a very bright, intense rash. My chest not as bright of a red, but still was red. I have used bp on my back before, but very inconsistently and I didn't leave it on as long as I did with the foam before washing. Here's the thing though, it disappeared around an hour after working out. The next day, the same thing. Now this morning, I noticed the rash looking severe inflammation after I used the foam on my back and chest and used hotter water today. So it is triggered due to heat. Does this sound like an allergic reaction to BP? I know I should refrain from using it, but if anyone knows if this is consistent with a BP reaction that would help me a lot, considering that if it isn't I should see a doctor, which I don't have health insurance for lol. Thanks!

MemberMember
(@obironpaulnobi)

Posted : 09/28/2013 10:28 am