Notifications
Clear all

Need Advice on What Procedures to Get Next for My Acne Scars

MemberMember
(@scarredletletters)

Posted : 03/11/2018 4:23 am

Hi! I have been lurking on this forum for a long time. It's my first time to post here so I apologize if I violated any rules or anything. Let me know so I can edit this.

I need advice on what procedures should I get next to treat my acne scars. Last year, I had a couple sessions of TCA cross, microneedling and AGNES. In January, I had microneedling and my first subcision ever. There were improvements as far as ice pick scars are concerned but for the other scars, not so much and I think they got worse but I have poor memory lol so I really can't tell. I like to believe that my scars did improve no matter how insignificant and I am just being too critical. 

I have Asian brown skin. I tend to have hyperpigmentation but they go away with hydroquinone. When I had subcision, I didn't have any hyperpigmentation at all and things healed after 4-5 days 

So next week, I am planning to have a subcision for some of my scars and microneedling or RF microneedling (if my derma has it). I'll do the suction method too. I didn't know about it the first time so I wasn't able to do it. I bought those cupping cups and also this pore cleanser/blackhead vacuum thingy and I think the pore cleanser is better so I'll use that one instead of the cups.

After 3 weeks-ish, I'll have a peel. Not sure what peel but I am thinking TCA. I've never really had strong peels. My derma used TCA last year but I didn't peel that much. I didn't ask her the strength she used but I'm thinking it was on the milder side since she tends to play it safe and only used 80% for my TCA cross. I use hydroquinone for when I get hyperpigmentation.

After the peel (I usually wait 3-4 weeks before having another procedure), I'd probably have another subcision/microneedling then peel again.