Notifications
Clear all

I Feel Like I Hav E No Solution Right Now!

MemberMember
(@sandrine1985)

Posted : 02/01/2012 6:44 am

Hi everyone,

I have been now battling with acne for quite some time. I am 26 and part asian and it took me this long to realize i was allergic/intolerant to most of the things that work.

I used to take acutane but had to stop as i was moving to the USA from Europe and couldn't get a prescription here (too expensive!) it was working but i was going blind! not really blind but my eyes used to hurt and currently still do after a year and half (they get dry easily and sensitive to the sun) which sucks cause im a photographer.

Prior to that i took a bunch of doxycycline + other similar medication combined with differin. Differin made my skin itchy and red but i never though i was allergic. so i kinda had clear skin for a moment then would relapse badly. it wasn't a good long term treatment.

So after all that, i decided to use proactive (i had no money for insurance, so no dermatologist). i think this was the worst acne moment of my life! i had the rawest red painful skin ever. i was crying! i have cystic acne on my cheeks and near my eye brows (i notice a lot of asians have it on their cheeks too) But still i wanted to stick to proactive till i started resembling elephant man and found myself un able to go to work as my eyes were to swollen to open fully and my lips were puffy. thats when i realized i may be allergic to benzol peroxyde which at least now made sense to me.

so recently ive been taking yasmin which i had taken once a few years back and now i remember why i stopped! it makes me insomniac! and my stomach really hurts.

What other solution works? im running out of ideas?

Ive also tried

Apple cider vinegar which doesnt do much