Notifications
Clear all

Post Accutane/Minocycline Facial Flushing

MemberMember
(@scooby32)

Posted : 09/09/2009 7:33 pm

Hey, everyone.. i've followed this thread for awhile but this is my first time posting.. it seems liker y'all on the thread know more than any dermatologists i've ever spoken to..

anyway here's my problem.. i was on 40 mg 2x daily for 6 months and 1 month prior of 10 mg 2x a day.. i'm currently 5 months post tane..

after my course was done, i as well got the intense flushing, where i'd always be flushed unless i was sitting in front of a fan.. but the flushing has greatly decreased, almost completely.. now i only get flushed when i drink and it's not nearly as bad..

however i also have another problem.. everytime and i mean everytime i sweat, almost my whole face breaks out in a rash.. the rash is the worst close to my eyes and nose on my cheeks and not really anything around my mouth and jawline..

after 1-2 hours of sitting in the ac and relaxing the rash goes away, unless i take a shower then it will come back for another hour, but it isnt as bad as the initial rash i got when i was sweating.

my dermatologists told me she wouldnt be surprised at all if i had rosacea (actually i showed her a pic of when i had rashed out and she said if she didnt know that it went away in 1-2 hours, she would have thought it was lupus.. i dont really know anything about lupus)..

but since i never had any of these problems before accutane, i really dont think i have rosacea.. i will say this: before accutane i would get decently red when i exercised hard, but everyone in my family does and no one has rosacea..

my dermatologists told me to try metrogel which is a topical treatment for rosacea and if that doesnt work or irritates my skin more, we would try doxycycline, and if that didnt work we'd probably i have to do lasers once i am a year post tane..