Notifications
Clear all

Retin-A Not Working?

MemberMember
(@maheen97)

Posted : 05/02/2015 10:27 pm

Hi! I am new to Acne.org despite having acne for five years now. My acne started when I was 13 and I immediately started using salycylic acid and benzoyl peroxide on it. It worked to control my acne in the beginning but lost its touch after a couple years. Every year my acne got worse and I tried many natural treatments that I've pretty much exhausted. I didn't have good health insurance so it was hard for me to see a dermatologist. This year I saw one and he prescribed me Retin-A 0.05. I wear a heavy amount of makeup and when I went I tried to keep it light but I think maybe he didn't gage how bad my acne was.

I'm on my 10th week of Retin-A and haven't really seen any results. I experienced a terrible terrible flare-up from the Retin-A - a horrid amount of uncontrollable whiteheads and large, painful cysts. It was so bad that I had trouble covering it up. After 8 weeks, I noticed I was no longer purging but I had severe hyperpigmentation - worse than I've ever had before.

Now, in my 10th week, I have severe, deep, acne scars and hyperpigmentation; and still am getting strings of whiteheads on my face, including one or two cysts. I've read to wait at least 12 weeks, but I would think that if I still have terrible acne at 10 weeks, Retin-A is probably not doing anything to my skin, or is not strong enough for my acne? I didn't really experience the dryness and irritation most people get from Retin-A because my skin is used to chemicals, so I have no problem in using it every day. I've gotten to that point in my life where I've exhausted just about every over-the-counter treatment that I can afford and I had high hopes for Retin-A, but even that failed me, so I'm wondering if my acne will ever really go away.