Notifications
Clear all

Does It Work And Are There Long Term Side Effects? Tips?

MemberMember
(@jsdm17)

Posted : 09/22/2013 3:52 pm

Hi this is my first time on the forum here. Im 14 (and soon to be 15). I'm a dude. I recently got prescribed claravis (accutane) 20mg everyday after battling acne with no effect the past few years. In the past year I've especially gotten bad shoulder acne and a few pimples on my back so I asked to be put on the treatment. I've looked around and was wondering are there any long term side effects? I've heard of tane stunting growth in teens, leading to chronic joint pain or possibly arthritis, and a slew of other side effect. Should I be worried? Also are there any of you with good stories about tane? Or any tips?

Thanks a lot,

John

MemberMember
(@everythingthatshimmers)

Posted : 09/22/2013 7:07 pm

Hi John! Accutane does work and works very well for most people. Most people get clear skin with 4-5 months use of the medication although some people clear up sooner. Some people will get an initial flare-up of their acne (sometimes called the "initial breakout", or "IB") where it gets worse, sometimes much worse, before it gets better. If you spend much time researching Accutane online or looking on these forums, you will see amazing success stories and you will also see stories where people say Accutane ruined their life and describe long-term side effects. Severe side effects from this drug are supposedly rare but deciding whether to take this drug (or whether to continue it or not) is a decision that everyone must make for themselves based on the severity of their acne and how much it is affecting their lives.