Notifications
Clear all

Is there a fluoride-acne connection?

MemberMember
(@natfromuk)

Posted : 05/15/2011 3:13 pm

I am just beginning to research whether there is a connection between the fluoride in water and my personal acne problem, which has been ongoing since my early teens (I am now 30 years old).

Since moving to a new area I noticed that my acne became much worse and after no improvement I started to investigate possible reasons for this change. My diet hadn't changed and my lifestyle was much less stressful in the new location. I then decided to look at the water in both my previous and new locations and found that in my new location (Lincolnshire, UK) the water (from Anglian Water) contained roughly 3 x the amount of fluoride compared to my old location. Figures were obtained by going on water company websites and checking average levels at both addresses.

Finally I decided to do a test, consuming only bottled water containing fluoride at less than 0.1 mg/L. Having done this for a month now I have noticed a drastic improvement in my skin. This could be due to the lack of fluoride or some other component in the tap water here or maybe my skin would have just cleared on its own. I have to admit I am now nervous to drink the tap water and am much more concerned about the fluoridation of water supplies having done some research into it. I will stick to the bottled water for now and start looking for ways of filtering out fluoride.

I would appreciate hearing about anybody elses experiences or ideas regarding this.

MemberMember
(@texmurphy01)

Posted : 05/15/2011 5:37 pm

Welcome to Lincolnshire, enjoy your stay.

I've been looking into reducing flouride. Which bottled water did you switch to?

MemberMember
(@rifkah6)

Posted : 05/16/2011 3:22 am