Notifications
Clear all

My Acne Stops Me From Living My Life

MemberMember
(@olymtrea)

Posted : 02/06/2015 12:16 am

I've never written on one of these things before but I Just need to vent. I'm 21 years old and still suffering with cystic acne. It is so unbelievably debilitating I can't even begin to explain. It's taken over my brain...it is literally all I can think about. I'm always trying to gage whether the lighting will accentuate my acne, if I can find excuses to avoid friends and social engagements...it's exhausting. I've tried eating for better skin but essentially had an eating disorder....I don't know what to do anymore. I've seen the dermatologist but it didn't help. I feel like everyone else has flawless skin or just minor acne issues. It honestly makes me feel like an absolute monster. I feel like no one could ever love me and I don't really blame them. I am actually disgusting. the thing that drives me the most crazy is I'm in the prime of my life but can't enjoy any aspect of it because I'm always worried about my skin. Can someone please help.

MemberMember
(@timbuddy)

Posted : 02/07/2015 10:28 am

Hi Olym,
Wow, I feel like this was me 10 years ago writing this post. I know exactly the feeling of isolation and especially frustration at how everyone else has either perfect skin or minor issues that aren't even a big deal, compared to how bad my skin was.
And the prime of my life is the part that really jumped out. I was in my mid-twenties, living in a beautiful place (San Diego) with lots of beautiful women around and felt so self-conscious talking to them, wondering what they thought about how I looked. I even wore makeup to cover myself up (and yes, I'm a guy). Always worrying about the lighting and how obvious not only my skin issues but also the makeup.