Vitex reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Vitex
4/5 - 18 reviews
5 star
11 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
0 reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
3 reviews

Brand: Vitex

Write Your Review

Vitex

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
Vitex (Chasteberry) Extract, (Vitex agnus-castus).

Inactive Ingredients:
Gelatin Capsule (gelatin, purified water), Cellulose, Vegetable Grade Magnesium Stearate (lubricant).

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Vitex

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Vitex

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

best remedy for completely clear skin
Reviewed on February 17, 2018

ve been taking Vitex for three months and only in the last week or two has my skin just completely cleared up like 100%, im talking no congestion no black heads no white heads no inflammation and im the second day into my period too! My homeopath gave this to me without telling me there were gonna be any side effects or anything and i only found out that there were side effects from reading reviews a few days ago. Before i started my acne was pretty mild because i controlled what i could with my diet and mostly i had lots of congestion and a breakout every so often, i felt like i could stay clear only for like 3 days tops, and once i started there wasnt any initial breakout just more congestion than normal. other people have claimed that it messed with their mental health which is one thing i can agree on, i suffered from some serious serious depression for a few weeks, but now im completely fine. because i wasnt expecting any side effects, anything that was happening to me wasnt severe enough to the point of me thinking that it was because of the vitex, and if i were to go back in time knowing that i was gonna go through any kind of side effects that i did go through, i would still have taken it regardless because its so so worth it. i dont know exactly what dose i take because its in a liquid form, i take 30 drops a day, 15 in the morning and 15 at night. also if i do get a pimple that comes to the surface and pops it literally scabs up and falls off by the next day so i feel like my skin is healing way more faster than before. because it does adjust your menstrual cycle, my periods came earlier than before but now im on month three and they are bang on 28-30 days apart.

in short; if you want to get clear skin naturally without using harsh medicines and if you think your acne is hormonal then i strongly advise to talk to a homeopathic doctor and give it a shot because its really worth it, my skin is 100% clear.


***BEST REMEDY EVER - BUT TAKES 2-3 MONTHS TO WORK***
Reviewed on February 1, 2018

***YOU NEED TO TAKE THIS FOR AT LEAST 2 MONTHS BEFORE YOU SEE RESULTS, BUT I PROMISE IT IS SO WORTH IT!***

I turned 27 years old and all of a sudden I started to develop cystic acne all over my chin, under my chin and jawline. I have always been very active, do intense workouts 5-6 days a week (P90X, Instanity and CrossFit), eat healthy, and get at least 8 hours of sleep. Nothing changed about my routine, yet all of a sudden these cysts kept popping up on my face. I tried every acne product out there, I tried every topical natural remedy and completely took sugar out of my diet entirely. NOTHING WORKED! So I went back to my dermatologist and she recommended oral birth control (I already had the IUD in). So I thought I would give oral birth control a try and for the first 3 days of taking the birth control my chest was so tight I could barely breath, which made me research the side effects which were 'stroke and pulmonary embolism's' so I stopped taking them RIGHT AWAY. That was when I researched and found A TON of positive reviews about Vitex berries specifically for cystic acne. So I went down to my local Vitamin Shop and started taking them. I noticed I broke out more in the first 2 months of taking them (which I read that would probably happen), but close to the end of the third month my skin was COMPLETELY clear and I've continued to take them every day and have ZERO cystic acne now. Honestly, BEST REMEDY EVERY! But you have to be patient and just embrace the suck for the first 2-3 months, it will be worth it!


BEWARE: PLEASE, PLEASE READ
Reviewed on July 29, 2017

I eat a very healthy plant based diet, drink over a gallon of water per day, exercise regularly, sleep 8+ hours per night, and do yoga and meditation to manage my stress. Despite all of this, my cystic acne has only gotten worse and I figured that I must have a hormonal imbalance. I wanted to avoid harsh medications like accutane, retin-A, birth control, antibiotics, and spironolactone so I decided to take the natural route. I stumbled upon vitex and only found positive reviews, so I decided to give it a try. Probably one of the worst mistakes I've ever made. I ended up in the ER because of heart palpitations and acute anxiety. I could not sleep because my heart was pounding and I would wake up in the middle of the night and look in the mirror and not be able to recognize myself. Sometimes when I closed my eyes, I experienced some form of psychosis and saw terrifying images and hallucinations. I couldn't concentrate at all and I became unable to read, hold conversations, or perform simple addition. I put on weight because I was ravenously hungry and no amount of food could satisfy my cravings. The worst part is that my skin broke out in a severe, itchy, acne-like rash and it had never looked more terrible or swollen. I took it for approximately 1 week and stopped it cold turkey after taking a higher dose (two 400 mg pills, 12 hours apart) and suffering severe diarrhea the following day. It has been nearly 3 weeks since I last took it. Fortunately, my period is still regular, but the anxiety and the derealization/depersonalization remain. I'm getting better day by day but this has been not been an easy journey. I was lucky to get out quickly and to be young (I'm 19 years old) and fairly healthy, but I have read stories of women who stuck with the pill for months and even years despite the side effects and permanently damaged their bodies. Please, please reconsider taking vitex until you have gone to a doctor, gotten your hormones tested, and been told that your progesterone is low. I don't want to discount that vitex has been a miracle worker for so many women. However, it is NOT for everyone. I feel that after the pain I have endured, it's my duty to share my experience so no else has to suffer like I have. If you do wish to start vitex, start with VERY small dosages. A lot of my anger stems from the fact that the Whole Foods brand has pills with 400 mg of the herb and the instructions recommend that you take 1 to 2 capsules per day. IMPORTANT: THE RECOMMENDED DOSAGE IS ANYWHERE BETWEEN 50 MG AND 250 MG (MAX!!!!) DAILY. I took 800 mg only ONE day and I have not been the same since. So start with small doses or avoid the herb all together. Trust me, clear skin is not worth your health or your sanity.

Update: It has now been nearly 4 months and I am still not even close to 100%. My acne is the worst it's ever been, my period comes later and later each month, and my anxiety is through the roof. DO NOT TAKE ANY SUPPLEMENT WITHOUT CONSULTING A DOCTOR OR A LICENSED HERBALIST. I'm devastated and I would never wish this pain upon anyone.


by Candacy on 12/03/2017 20:07
Sorry to hear about that..........vitex does have some side effects but you need to lower you dose.....I started taking vitex 1st Nov 2017 the first day I took 400mg 3 times a day and notice I was always hungry....night sweat, heart palpitations and diarrhea after about 1 week I decided to lower my dose now I am only taken 400mg 2 times per day .....but beside the negative the first day I stated feeling good about myself I was always depressed.....no depressing now ...have a lot of energy ...no headache and I am ovulating the way I should.....today 3rd December 2017 I notice my hands peeling so I am now going to keep looking and if so be it lower my dose to just 1 per day but I really love vitex never felt so good and healthy about myself my cravings are not there like before when I just stated ..I guess it not for everyone what might work for me might now work for someone else.
It solved my hormonal acne and bad PMS!
Reviewed on October 16, 2016

I will sing vitex's praises forever! I HAD severe hormonal cystic acne on my cheeks - cutting dairy helped but not 100%. I also have severe PMS or PMDD, so I was desperate for help. At the end of August 2016, I tried my first vitex pill and within 12 hours my face started clearing! It was like the undo-button for my face. Praise God. I take 2-3 400mg pills a day. My face has only improved and my PMS is slowly getting better. A few weeks ago I upped my vitamin A which is clearing out any old stubborn zits. For the first time in my life I have clear skin with NO BREAKOUTS. I can feel my cheeks and the subsurface is even and painless, instead of swollen and lumpy. It's a skin-saving, miracle-working herb. I wish I had tried it sooner!


So wonderful!
Reviewed on April 5, 2016

I actually joined this website in order to rave about my results with Vitex over about three months.. Cystic (scarring!) acne came out of nowhere when I turned 22 and I tried everything. Since taking Vitex, in combination with my acne therapy light, my breakouts are finally under control. I couldn't be happier.

Wish I could add pictures to show you the improvement; but take my word. When nothing else is working, it may be your hormones being wacky and producing too much testosterone like me.


by Keep Fighting on 05/13/2016 19:37
Thanks for sharing Which brand do you buy Extract or root How much you take
Finally-- a cure!
Reviewed on March 22, 2016

After 25 years of trying every single OTC & RX acne cure on the market (with only temporary or no results, I finally stumbled upon a website that recommended the DIM + Vitex treament. I couldn't believe that within 1 week, my skin was no longer bumpy and breaking out. I had just quit Spiro (which hadn't even worked after 8 months) cold-turkey and expected there to be at least a little flare-up, but my hormonal acne all over my skin was almost gone. After a few months now, I can say that perhaps 1 small pimple happened at PMS time, and then nothing more.

One caveat: if you are taking the recommended dosage on the bottles and get headaches, add in Milk Thistle. I should have started out more slowly anyway and might have not gotten the headaches. I took 1 DIM + Vitex in the am & pm. Now up to 2 pills twice daily.


by Keep Fighting on 05/13/2016 19:38
Do you combine both DIM and Vitex Which brand How much dose
Exceeded my expectations
Reviewed on February 5, 2016

Try it! It not only cleared my acne almost instantly, it has remained clear despite quitting Spironolactone cold turkey. It also had the added bonus of bringing back my period which I haven't had for an entire year. Balanced hormones seems to really agree with me and it might with you too. Oh, and it has a lot of positive reviews in terms of conception. I'll be updating if I'm also able to become pregnant with continued use (we've been trying for 16 months and on various fertility meds so it would be a miracle!).

Give a try, I'm glad I did.


by Hannah Gaynor on 01/19/2017 03:23
How long after taking vitex did your period come? Did you conceive?
Perfect for hormonal acne
Reviewed on December 3, 2015

While Accutane got rid of the worst of my acne (I started taking it when I was 14,) I still had it worse than the average teenager. As I got older (17) I stopped getting acne on my forehead, cheeks, and chin, and instead it spread to the sides of my face, and along my jawline, and under my chin. This was my transition from teenage acne to adult acne. While I do use a prescription topical cream which entirely eliminated the acne along the sides of my face, it did not get rid of the acne along my jawline and under it. I started taking Vitex in hopes of it helping with the acne there, and after about a month I started noticing a small difference. After approximately two months my acne along my jawline and underneath it was pretty much gone. Of course I still get some zits (mostly along my jawline and under it) but my face hasn't been this clear since I was 12-13. I think the more I use Vitex, the better the results will be. Vitex also helps a lot with period acne and PMS.


by iedanabiela on 12/25/2015 08:47
what brand of vitex that u take?
Reviewed on March 11, 2013

I wrote "yes" for recommendation simply because I'm sure it would work for some women out there-- but don't expect miracles. Stop it if you get funky periods and bloating.


member avatar
lavvy, romania
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Powerful. Proprietary. Proven.
The Acne.org Regimen
Complete Acne Treatment Kit
$44.87
The Acne.org Regimen
  • Clinically proven
  • Proprietary anti-acne technology
  • Powerfully effective
  • Pharmaceutical grade
  • Guaranteed effective
  • Doctor/Dermatologist recommended
  • Used in acne clinics worldwide
  • 100% non-comedogenic
  • Fragrance-free & dye-free
  • pH balanced
  • Scientifically formulated for acne-prone skin
  • Developed by the experts at Acne.org