Tape Method

Reviews
3.0
13 Reviews

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
30.8%
4
15.4%
3
7.7%
2
15.4%
1
30.8%

Used Tape Method? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
May 29, 2015
Works in theory, not in practice.
I've used tape on my skin a few times to try to lift off dead skin, and it does lift of dead skin, and hairs -- you can see it on the tape -- but the residue that the glue leaves on your skin is not good. I find this to be more irritating for the skin than anything else. There are better ways to go about this that doesn't leave residual chemicals or irritate the hair follicles.
May 5, 2013

Pros:

Cheap - one roll lasts ages
Easily obtained
Effective

Cons:

You need to be really gentle to avoid damaging healthy skin
Can leave skin underneath a bit pink & tender if you remove too much skin.
If you are not gentle enough, you can make it worse and end up with a scab.

This is an essential item in my makeup bag - I wouldn't be without it! I hate how dead skin absorbs makeup so I always make sure to lift any dry bits up with tape. I use insulation tape (my personal favourite) - it's not overly sticky which is very important! I do not recommend ordinary Scotch/Sello tape - much too sticky and you might damage your skin.
January 5, 2012

Pros:

-Removes dry/ flaky skin that exfoliating leaves behind.

Cons:

-None

I have really sensitive red skin so I was afraid this would irritate it more but it hasn't at all. I can't use lotion to get rid of my dry skin because I will break out so this is an awesome alternative. I use clear packing tape because it covers a large area and it's not TOO sticky so it doesn't hurt. I do it a couple times a week during the winter because the air is so dry. After , I use tweezers to get rid of the stray flakes left behind. This has seriously changed my life, my dry skin used to make my face look hairy if I wore makeup. I'm so happy now.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
February 18, 2011

Pros:

- Get rid of facial hair too

Cons:

- Hurts
- Costly
- There are far better ways too
- Not gentle

Aight. There's far better methods of getting rid off your facial hair, aswell as the dead skin cells. Cheaper ones too, and more eco friendly. You can buy exfoliants from any store. This one hurts and makes your skin red. Plus, you have no idea what's used in the tapes glue!
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 27, 2010

Pros:

Removes dead skin cells

Cons:

none

I thaught i was the only one to do this, i was suprised to find it. Ive been using tea tree oil it tends to dry out the areas that i use it on, it gets rid of the dead skin cells on the surface! After i apply vitamin 3 cream
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Bob
June 25, 2009

Pros:

-Removes Dead Skin
-Inexpensive
-Easy To Do, Anytime

Cons:

-Requires Large Amount of Tape
-May Irritate

The method does remove dead skin, but it seems tiring to cut strips of tape and then apply to face and remove. Also, there's more effective methods and don't consume so much time. Try AHA or a scrub, it's more effective.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Wendy
April 9, 2009

Pros:

Removes dead skin cells without the use of harsh scrubbers or chemicals.

Cons:

Depending on the tape, it may leave a sticky residue on the face that will need to be washed off. I use thin scotch tape, so it is time consuming to cover the entire area of the face.

Great for getting rid of excess skin, it's very cheap and affordable, and gentle as well.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
pogo
November 27, 2008

Pros:

removed dead skin caused from the drying effects of products

Cons:

doesn't remove blackheads, duh!

I only use packing tape to remove the scaly dead skin off, since most skin products are very drying. Works pretty well for that. I don't know why people try using it for blackheads though!
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
skidzl
November 3, 2007

Pros:

-

Cons:

doesnt work at ALL

dont do it
Anonymous
September 9, 2007

Pros:

NO much. It took out some.

Cons:

It's not very effective.

I ran out of Biore nose strips so I thought about putting tape (scotch tape) on my nose. It took out a few blackheads but nothing compared to the actual strip. It just hurt.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report