Saw Palmetto

Reviews
4.0
58 Reviews

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
55.2%
4
17.2%
3
8.6%
2
8.6%
1
10.3%

Used Saw Palmetto? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
April 4, 2021
Amazing!!

I never write reviews however I thought this was needed. I had always had very clear skin up until I hit about 27. I was on doxycycline previous for a tick bite and wow was that the biggest mistake of my life. I believe that the doxy seriously messed up my hormones. ( after I started taking these I had unusual chin hair also). Fast forward I have been struggling with on and off acne for about 4 years which has been totally killing my confidence. I tried stopping caffeine, I tried microdimerbrasion, skin peels, retinoids treatment, you name it I’ve tried it. So my last resort before the pill to fix the issue was saw palmetto. I read it works like the pill wig no side effects. Ladies and gentlemen I’ve been taking this for a week now. Within three days I had no more flare ups!!! And that’s that’s only taking 160mg daily. It’s still early days but but my skin feels like any old spots are smaller and not flaring up like they usually would and my periods are also a lot lighter. I highly recommend you give this a shot!! It could be your holy grail. FYI this will only work for hormonal acne and if your spots are for another reason I don’t think it will work it could make the matters worse. 

February 21, 2021
PCOS Acne CURED

I swore I would go to different websites and give Saw Palmetto a raving review if it worked for my horrible cystic acne caused by PCOS, so that's what I'm doing today. A little less than a year ago, I learned that I had high testosterone and PCOS. I could have done Acutane or Spironolactone but decided to try Saw Palmetto first, as one last natural effort. Well, IT WORKED. It took a few months, but well worth it for virtually NO side effects. One year later, my skin is glowing and I constantly get compliments on my skin. Instead of trying medication for high testosterone in women and risking dangerous side effects, try saw palmetto. It was a total game changer!

September 10, 2019
Amanda

I use Botanycl SkinClear Elixir which contains saw palmetto and other active ingredients. It is the best saw palmetto product I have ever used for my acne. It worked after the first bottle and my skin is clear for the first time in YEARS. I am so so happy!!!! Highly recommend Botanycl. 

March 7, 2019
ALL WOMEN SHOULD TAKE! CURES ACNE AND EXCESSIVE HAIR GROWTH!

 

This is very beneficial for women with Acne/PCOS/Excessive hair growth is highly effective with curing acne along with a dairy free/low carb/no processed food diet. It reduces acne and oily skin as well as reducing male hormones which wreak havoc on the female body. But not all brands are good so make sure to choose a good one. Highly recommend. 

November 22, 2018
I never ever shared my acne journey until now… I have found the solution - "Saw Palmetto" for hormonal acne.

I have battled with acnes since I was 15.  I am now 37 years old and yes I have had this problem for 22 years! After, I hit puberty, I started to have breakouts - whiteheads and blackheads on T zone. Luckily, they were not that bad because a combination of benzoyl peroxide and clindamycin solution cleared them up. However, ever since I had turned 28, the painful journey started. For whatever reason,  benzoyl peroxide and clindamycin stopped working. I woke up one day with deep painful zits on my jawline. I thought I might develop resistance to clindamycin because I used it for over a decade. At that time, I decided to keep using benzoyl peroxide and among other acne treatments namely oral doxycycline, metronidazole gel, adapalene and dapsone cream, and salicylic acid topical. Yet, nothing worked. I was very frustrated. I did some research and then I knew it was a hormonal problem. Topical acne treatments would not work and of course I could not take antibiotics forever, which by the way caused me adverse effects - upset stomach and yeast infection. Afterwards, I decided to take spironolactone when I was 31 and BOY it did save my life. It worked wonderfully for my hormonal acnes. I no longer broke out with deep angry zits or had oily skin anymore. I was absolutely thrilled and thought it was a happy ending... For those who do not know what spironolactone is , it is a potassium-sparing diuretic. It is mainly used for hyperaldosteronism, resistant hypertension, congestive heart failure and liver cirrhosis. Interestingly, spironolactone, also has anti-androgen effect by blocking androgen receptors located at sebaceous glands. It is frequently used off-lable to treat a variety of dermatological conditions in which androgens, such as testosterone and dihydrotestosterone (DHT), play a role for example androgenic alopecia in men and women, and hirsutism, acne, and polycystic ovarian syndrome in women. My friend...before taking spironolactone, I also took birth control pills, which worked for me but I had to quit because of the side effects - depression and melasma. 

Believe it or not, I kept taking spironolactone for 6 years. The dose that I took was 50 mg once a day. The recommended dose is ranging from 50 to 200 mg daily. Because it is a pee pill, I had to drink a lot of water to stay hydrated so I used a bathroom every 2 hours. I sometimes skipped the pill when I was on a vacation because you never knew if you would be able to find a bathroom or not. I sometimes got dizzy if I did not have a chance to drink enough water. I also experienced breast tenderness and irregular periods. Unfortunately, the effect of spironolactone had weaned off over the last 3 years when I started to break out again! I was like what the h---. I knew what it meant. It meant, "I need a higher dose". I took a shot and decided to go up to a 100 mg a day. Of course, it controlled the situation real well. However, it was not a sustainable solution because of the side effects. I could not handle the higher dose. I got dizzy. I drank and I peed then I drank and I peed. I desperately lowered the dose to 50 mg daily and continued the pill even though I still got cystic acnes especially prior to my periods and that left with hyperpigmentation and scar for months. Meanwhile, I continued searching for the acne cure naturally on websites and YouTube channels. Then, I came across "Saw Palmetto"

Ladies and Gentlemen...It does work!!! I got this supplement from a local pharmacy. I have taken Saw Palmetto for a month now, 450 mg three times a day. For the longest time, I broke out only one zit prior to my period. This is a big deal for me. Only one zit, it never happened before and on top of that I don't have to live in the bathroom anymore. Thus far, I have not had any side effect (knock on wood a thousand times). My plan is to boost it up 1 week before my period begins. Instead of taking 450 mg three times a day, I will  take 900 mg twice a day. 

I have known Saw Palmetto for a long time, as it is a supplement for enlarged prostate. What is dose is, it blocks a conversion of testosterone to DHT, a potent form of male hormone. The bottom line is if you have less DHT then you will have less sebaceous gland activity and that can fix the vicious cycle of hormonal acnes. I think I know my body well enough to say that I have imbalanced sex hormones for whatever reason. I do not think I have PCOS though since I am very skinny and always have a regular period. Anyhow, Saw Palmetto is my answer. 

I would like to thank to everyone for sharing their journey on this website or on YouTube channel. Thank you to the Lord for creating this wonderful supplement. Whoever surfs this website on Thanksgiving, I feel your pain and I am with you. Happy Thanksgiving to you all ~ 11-22-18. 

November 24, 2018

Once am done with breastfeeding i am going for it.

I also suffer hormonal imbalance.

Thanks

March 16, 2018
Cured my hormonal acne on cheeks
Saw palmetto has cured my hormonal acne. I have had lots of small spots on my cheeks since coming of the pill age 24. The brand I use is called nature's aid and I take twice the amount recommended on the packaging. I take 2 tablets, 3x a day. It has taken a while to work ( about 3 months) but now nearly all my spots are gone!!! I also only use jojoba oil to remove make up and to moisturise. So so happy I came across this!!! The only side effect i habe noticed us slightly more PMS. But I also take Vitex which keeps that at bay.
March 4, 2018
Be careful taking this!
If you have any stomach issues at all, be cautious taking this! I have PCOS and this supplement was recommended to me. I'm only a week in and have never experienced stomach pain this bad. I've had pain every day since starting it and I won't be continuing it.
May 14, 2018
Crazy how we all have unique reactions to different herbs. For me it was Vitex who caused so much stomach pain I was taken to the hospital. Then I tried Saw Palmetto and I had no reactions + it helped my acne. Hope you can find a herb that works for you, too!
March 3, 2018
Miracle!
I suffered with my skin and excess hair since I was 12, I also suffered with anxiety and would constantly pick at my skin. I suffered with oily skin with severe break outs all over especially just before my period. In 2014 I was told I had PCOS, so I did some online research and decided to start taking some herbal meds, change my diet and quit red meat and caffeine. Literally within 2 weeks my skin completely cleared up, no more oily skin and my anxiety and need to pick completely disappeared too. I felt brand new it was amazing! Now I know after all these years (I'm now 44) all my skin and anxiety problems were down to my hormones. This is what I did: I take 320mg saw palmetto (standardised extract) one per day in the morning along with a fish oil capsule and 1000mg evening primrose oil capsule. I no longer drink caffeine. I drink redbush tea which is also very good for your immune system and skin. I limit sugar intake, and try to eat fruit instead (avoid high sugar fruit or fruit that would affect your testeterone levels such as bananas) nuts are great in your diet. Try to stick to a low fat, low carb, high protein diet with lots of fruit, salad and vedgetables. With lean white meats such as fish turkey and chicken. And of course lots of water at least 2 litres a day. I promise you, you'll see a big difference. Saw palmetto literally changed my life.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 27, 2018
MEN NEVER TAKE
Attention all men never ever take a DHT inhibitor like Saw Palmetto simply google post Finasteride syndrome it can cause permanent sexual side effects along with breast growth... Please research before taking certain supplements.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 16, 2018
You are fake news. The bottle saids for mens health!
January 24, 2018
Literally cured my hormonal acne!!!
I have had acne for years. Last year I had the worst outbreak I've ever had and my cheeks and jawline were covered in painful red, inflamed acne. It was not a pretty sight and I totally lost my confidence. I went to the doctor and tried several different prescriptions, including 2 different anti-biotics and topical retinoid. Nothing worked. I am sure the retinoid actually scarred my skin. Anyway, I realised that my acne must be hormonal. So I researched and discovered that I had symptoms of high androgens ' acne, unwanted hair growth on my chin to name a few. So I researched natural anti-androgens and came across Saw Palmetto. I took it, and I'm not joking, within 3 days I was barely getting any new spots! Usually I would break out almost daily! My skin continued to get better and better. At the start of this year, I came across a supplement called SkinClear Elixir by a brand called Botanycl which people were getting really good results from. I noticed it had Saw Palmetto as one of the main ingredients, so I thought I would switch over to see if it was better than using saw palmetto alone. Ive been taking this for 3 weeks now and my skin has completely cleared, I do not have a single spot on my face and all of the red marks left from the old spots have faded dramatically. And I haven't had any side effects whatsoever. Its amazing and I couldn't be happier! I can go out without any make up on now I don't even need to wear foundation anymore. The supplement has other natural ingredients which I think made it work even better than the regular saw palmetto. I got it on their website but have also seen it on Amazon in the UK. If you have hormonal acne, seriously give this a try!!
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report