Rubbing Alcohol

Reviews
3.9
15 Reviews

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
40%
4
33.3%
3
13.3%
2
0%
1
13.3%

Used Rubbing Alcohol? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
March 1, 2018
Amazing
I have struggled with acne and oily skin for as long as I can remember. i tried everything and nothing was making it better until finally I found out about rubbing alcohol. It cleared up about 90% of my acne in about a week. I only use it at night before I go to bed and moisturize immediately after. In the morning I use l'bri face wash and I only get a few breakouts here and there. Overall such a great find!
August 8, 2017
Oh IA, where have you been all my life?
I've shied away from using straight alcohol on my face b/c so many people say it's too drying, BUT I just started using it on my face and the results are immediate and unbelievable!!! I have struggled with acne my entire life and this seems to be the only thing that works miracles. My skin feels smooth and soft afterwards and the toning effect it has makes me look like I've had a mini face-lift, I kid you not! If you have oily/acne-prone skin please give this a try. It may not work for everyone but I am so happy it's working for me! I hope it works for you too.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 22, 2018
I had officially given up trying cure the acne on my chest when I decided on a whim to try some isopropyl alcohol that was leftover and just lying around on it and my chest hasn’t looked better in many many months. It’s healing super nice and there’s no scarring left behind. It’s amazing. I take birth control for my facial acne so my face is pretty clear but for those patches that break out and just won’t heal I think I might try the alcohol on them too! 9/10 and the best acne medicine I’ve tried (including way too many things prescribed by dermatologists) other than my birth control which balances out my hormones, but since my chest acne wasn’t hormonal the alcohol has been the best thing I’ve ever tried in my life and I’m 21 and have had acne since I was about 14.
March 18, 2017
Works
Use a Cotten swab or cotton ball to apply stings a little at first but it's worth it . I have had so much acne and have been prescribed with acne treatments and everything but the rubbing Alcohol works the best
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 20, 2016
Alcohol CAUSING Acne
My daughter suffered from acne for quite some time before we realized it was the alcohol in her face products CAUSING the acne. We eliminated the alcohol and within less than a week her face was clear. We did have to find new face wash, lotion, spot treatment, makeup and laundry detergent. We also found that Betadine is a wonderful alternative to alcohol, and it doesn't dry the skin.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 10, 2016
Helps dry up my pimples fast!
I only get acne once in a while, since I'm going through puberty. And when I do, I just apply a little bit of this on the pimple and it dries it right up! I use it as a spot treatment. It makes it go away the day I apply or in the next 2 days at the latest. It's not a miracle product, but it definitely works. I have extremely mild acne, though, so I have not developed cysts and such that sever acne sufferers have, so I cannot say whether it works on those. I have hyperpigmentation issues though, so recently I've purchased Neutrogena Rapid Tone Repair Dark Spot Corrector, and it's really making them start to fade! My skin is getting brighter and more glowy. It also makes any new hyperpigmentation that's there once the pimple goes away because of the rubbing alcohol very light, so it fades much faster! I'm very satisfied with what I'm getting with both of these products together. I wish I had tried rubbing alcohol before as it would have saved me from very embarrassing pimple situations!
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 23, 2015
My miracle!
I am well aware of the concerns regarding alcohol and the skin - especially with regular use. However, I don't think one can truly appreciate the effects of isopropyl alcohol on the skin unless you've had long term moderate to severe acne. It is literally the one and only thing that has cured my acne and kept it away for over five years. I have tried everything from Clearasil to Proactive to Egg White Masks to $300 creams and antibiotics. Nothing worked except for IA. I have really oily skin so it doesn't dry it out to the point of being uncomfortable - however if you have already dry skin I wouldn't recommend it. I apply it to my skin with a cotton ball after I wash my face in the morning and before I go to bed at night. After having acne for over a decade, my skin is now 100% clear and smooth. As long as I use it regularly I never get breakouts. If you are at the end of your rope and have tried everything else I suggest you give this a shot - it might just work. What have you got to lose? It is one of the cheapest products available.
This Was Helpful

31 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 16, 2016
Would you be willing to talk about what finally helped to clear your acne? I am struggling and am beyond frustrated. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
April 25, 2013

Pros:

Can prevent cysts from growing faster

Cons:

Stings
Does not prevent acne
Skin flakes up around pimple

I DO NOT use this as an all over toner but as a spot treatment. I apply immediately and it puts a halt to active acne. Cysts sometimes stop growing but this has not always been the case. I also apply after popping any pimples to clear it of bacteria. Sometimes it's better just to let the cyst grow and pop and heal to be done with it but if you've got an important day ahead of you and can't deal with that red, scarred crater that comes with popping on your face then this is what I would recommend you use.
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Aabidah
October 19, 2012

Pros:

This is a very good toner. I don't know what it does to achieve this but I believe it was a main contributor to clearing my very light adult acne.

Cons:

None.

The bottom line is, for me, it was best to wash {Clearasil Face Wash}, tone {with alcohol} on a cotton ball, and moisturize. After using it as a toner, my face doesn't feel dry either. It really has a toning effect. I can't imagine why anyone wouldn't like it.
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 1, 2012

Pros:

dries out pimple
Takes a while for it to dry out with this method

Cons:

you have to reapply it
Smells bad

This is an ok method, but I prefer toothpaste. Toothpaste is faster than this. (I don't use this method everyday)
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Julie
April 15, 2012

Pros:

-Dries the pimple
-Disinfect the area

Cons:

None that I can think of

I didn't use it everyday like all the other reviewers. I always used it everytime I popped a pimple after getting out of the shower. Once I popped the pimple, I swab a little alcohol on the infected area and place neosporin over. I let it sit for 30 mins to an hour and wash it out and applied benzoyl peroxide over it. After a few days, the pimple subsided and I never got another pimple on that area again.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report