Proactiv Solution : Renewing Cleanser

Brand:
Reviews
3.3
18 Reviews

Active Ingredient:
Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Water, magnesium aluminum silicate, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, sorbitol, dimethyl isosorbide, disodium PEG-12 dimethicone sulfosuccinate, neopentyl glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, tridecyl stearate, polyethylene, cetyl esters, anthemis nobilis flower extract, tridecyl trimellitate, , imidazolidinyl urea, sodium PCA, propylene glycol, sodium hyaluronate, xanthan gum, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
22.2%
4
27.8%
3
16.7%
2
22.2%
1
11.1%

Used Proactiv Solution : Renewing Cleanser? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
August 22, 2016
2 stars only because of cost
So here is the deal - I have tried them all. I have suffered from acne since I was about 14 and that was a LONG time ago. I have been on prescription medication (that is an entirely different post, I think) and have suffered greatly because of it. I finally returned to topical treatments about 6 years ago after roughly 3 years on tetracycline and immediately tried Proactiv because it is the one that I hear about most, on TV, on message boards, friends etc. And it was relatively low cost compared to some other solutions. I only had one good friend who used it and it seemed to work well for her so why not?! But just like all of the people below, it was way too rough on my skin and I don't really consider myself to have sensitive skin. I also do not have allergies to Benzoyl before people jump to that conclusion. It is just rough. It did not stop the breakouts although it didn't leave a film on my skin, which I do appreciate. Needless to say, I didnt stay with it for very long... probably about 2 months before I moved on. Then tried product x, y z (you can insert any name and the likelihood is that I have used it) to no avail. Started on Ninja Skincare 2 months ago and so far am really enamored. There are about... I don't know 5-6 cleansers you can choose from based on your skin type and the one I am using now does not have any of the drying effects that I had with proactiv. Their topical medications come in different percentages too so you can choose how aggressive you want to be on your acne. So far so good and so far, super happy with it.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 14, 2014
not for everyone, too harsh for me
Proactive system not work for me, made my skin worse. The microbeads inside it is too harsh, causing micoinjury to Skin. Definitely not for to use during breakaout as it can be painful to use. My work for other. By the way I have oily skin, moderate acne mostly of cystic type, 25 yr / female.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 31, 2014
if you must use BPO...
This is a great cleanser. However, it won't work forever
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 27, 2013

Pros:

Clears skin quickly

Cons:

Really rough on skin
Inflames skin
Expensive

I got this for Christmas, so I'm not positive how much it costs. It did clear up my skin after about a week of use but it was so harsh. After using it, it would leave my skin really red and inflamed. The first time, my mom even asked if I had a sunburn because I was so red. It also dried out my chin and the areas around my nose and mouth. I had to stop eventually because of the side effects of burning and drying my skin.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 31, 2012

Pros:

-Smells nice
-Can work for mild acne

Cons:

-Expensive
-Small amount
-Careful when washing since it has BP in it.

Okay product, but much better ones on the market for cheaper.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 21, 2012

Pros:

worked for 2 weeks

Cons:

smells bad bleaches everything around you burnt my face very expensive in australia 106.00 a month!!

better of walking into a store and buying a gentle wash i would never recommend this to anyone waste of my money and time
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Charlotte
April 3, 2012

Pros:

-Can get rid of light acne

Cons:

-Does not help moderate/severe acne.
-If you stop using it for even for a day it will all come flooding back

If you have moderate to severe acne I do not recommend this product to you.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jane
February 9, 2012

Pros:

a decent wash

Cons:

pricey
VERY drying (too much for every day use)

Zapzyt worked better for me & was much more affordable & less drying
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 19, 2012

Pros:

Clears acne
Prevents new acne
Gives you a clean feeling
Does actually shrink pores

Cons:

TOO drying
Not for everyday use
Smell like chemical

I've been suffering from acne for half a year now ( I'm 18 ) My skin used to look perfect and acne-free until after a horrible day it broke out like crazy. My parents, my friends and even my teachers they told me that my face was a mess. Can you imagine how sad it was. I felt devastated, I stopped going out and spent most of my time sitting alone at home. My mom took me to a hospital, then a derm, but nothing seemed to work. My aunt, she sent me the Proactiv Kit but at first I didn't dare to use because of all the negative comments on the internet. However, as I was so desperate and I realized that I had nothing to lose, I finally decided to try Proactiv the 3-step system. And it works ! I know it doesn't work for everyone but I'm glad it works for me. The cleanser was too drying at first, and it left my face crazily red for 3 days but acne was gone ! So, I decided that I couldn't use it everyday, so I switched to Cetaphil. However, as you all know Cetaphil is mild and gentle and to be honest it doesn't really cleanse the skin very well. So every 2 days I use Proactiv cleanser to exfoliate and prevent new acne and then switch back to Cetaphil. Just so you know, acne doesn't disappear in just one night so you have to be persistent and believe that you can CONTROL your acne. Do not let it control your life. Everyone deserves clear skin!!
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 12, 2011

Pros:

It works it does a good job and really smooths out your skin..

Cons:

It irritates your skin for the first time you use it like the first week.

It works if you follow with the remaining steps of the 3 step systems and benzoyl peroxide specifically goes after acne and it kills is so i recommend to use it because if your patient and keep pushing it will pay off and use it every day because it s a routing that builds up to attack your bad skin