Philosophy : Purity Made Simple

Brand:
Reviews
3.5
19 Reviews

Water, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Coco-Glucoside, Coconut Alcohol, Peg-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Aniba Rosaeodora (Rosewood) Wood Oil, Geranium Maculatum Oil, Guaiac (Guaiacum Officinale) Extract, Cymbopogon Martini Oil, Rosa Damascena Extract, Amyris Balsamifera Bark Oil, Santalum Album (Sandalwood) Oil, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Cinnamomum Cassia Leaf Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil, Piper Nigrum (Pepper) Seed Extract, Polysorbate 20, Glycerin, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Yellow 5 (Ci 19140).

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
42.1%
4
10.5%
3
15.8%
2
15.8%
1
15.8%

Used Philosophy : Purity Made Simple? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
May 6, 2018
Dry my skin out
I heard all about the rave of this simple cleanser and decided to try it out. The scent was overpowering (I think it was lavender?), but I didn't really mind. It doesn't lather up like the foaming cleanser I was used to, but I heard it is better for the skin. However, this cleanser dried my cheeks out really badly and broke me out on my forehead. It took me a week to realize that I was not experiencing weather allergies but reactions to this cleanser. That being said, it might have been some chemical ingredients in the cleanser, some essential oils (I think it has black pepper extract?), or it might have been the Cinnamomum cassia leaf oil since I have an intolerance to cinnamon if I ingest it. I returned it to the store anyway.
January 3, 2018
It's drying
I have bought the travel size several times, but I doubt I'll buy it again. It smells like a citronella candle. (So, chemicals basically). Not the worst smell but not the best. When I apply it to my face, it stings my nostrils. The main reason I won't repurchase is because it's drying. If I use it several days in a row my skin gets dry, tight and flaky. And I moisturize A LOT. Sure, it's easier to get a nice clean feeling with this cleanser vs. a non-lather cleanser, but it's not worth the dry skin.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 6, 2016
Too harsh for sensitive skin (using tretinoin & clindamyacin)
I have baby sensitive skin and I'm a 20 yr old female. I used this for months 1x daily before I realized that it was way over drying my skin. It didn't make me peel terribly or feel like acid or anything crazy like that. It always felt pretty calming to my face and did great removing all traces of my makeup completely (very insecure about my acne so I wear full coverage somewhat heavy makeup). However, immediately after washing my face it would feel so tight and my skin felt stretched and uncomfy. Don't trick yourself and try to solve this tightness with moisturizer because the tightness means you're stripping your natural oils too much. I repeat, YOUR FACE SHOULD NOT FEEL TIGHT AFTER WASHING ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE SENSITIVE SKIN!!!
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 18, 2014
Love this cleanser!
I have mild to moderate acne and have been on ortho cyclen for about 4 months now. I love wearing makeup, but I hate using harsh cleansers to take it all off. I wear a full coverage foundation, powder, eyeshadow, waterproof eyeliner and primer everyday. This cleanser dissolves my makeup without irritating my skin and drying it right out. My skin has cleared up quite a bit, but I think that is because of the ortho cyclen. I just like this cleanser because it is so mild! Also, I really like the smell. It smells like I'm at the spa, which doesn't hurt ; p
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 10, 2013
Good in some ways... Except for causing cystic acne! OUCH!!!

Pros:

Makeup Remover
Controls Oil
Smells Nice

Cons:

Caused Cystic Acne Breakout
Caused Blackheads
Expensive

I bought this cleanser for 30$ at Ulta. I heard all these rave reviews on it as a total face product and wanted to give it a try. I will say first off, it is an amazing makeup remover! You do not even need to scrub this stuff literally melts away makeup (including waterproof mascara). I will say I have extremely oily skin that is prone to breakouts (whiteheads, blackheads) around my mouth/chin area and forehead. I loved this product at first, it seemed to manage my oiliness without drying me out. After a few weeks though, I started to get painful cystic acne on my forehead and upper lip, chin, and mouth creases. I also developed rash-like tiny red bumps on each side of my face. I thought maybe it was stress or something since it had been working fine. Well, 2 weeks after cutting the product out and switching back to my regular wash the horrible cysts cleared up. It was SO PAINFUL... Not to mention the fact I started getting gross blackheads! I would not recommend this for anyone with slight-moderate acne or oily skin. I am very sad as it was such a good makeup remover, I plan to still use it to take of eye makeup but it will NEVER touch my face agin
This Was Helpful

27 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 29, 2013
Amazing!

Pros:

Non-lathering
Smell

Cons:

Slight Burning sensation after use

I have had acne since the fourth grade. It is now the summer before I start 8th grade. I have tried proactiv clean and clear ambi every thing and nothing seemed to have worked. I even visited 2 dermatologist. When I first started using the philosophy I noticed results over night it was completely amazing
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Carrie
October 4, 2012

Pros:

my face always feels very clean. it never feels dry it always feels nice and smooth. it also rinses very clean.

Cons:

I am not crazy about the scent. But VERY easy to ignore. Also, it doesn't lather much but again, after about a week, who cares!

I have always had a lot of acne issues! since the age of 12 I have had acne. I am now 29. I have tried just about every single acne product they have out there that promises clear skin. I have even been to the dermatologist and been prescribed medicine. I have tried proactive. all of it has either done nothing for me or it made my acne flare up big time. I have never been able to look in the mirror and see my skin flawless from breakouts or even close to it. I have some what oily skin, mostly in the t zone. when I was young my acne was all over my face. as an adult it is on my jaw line and my temples and big time on my chin. The pimples are very large and itchy. I have heard a lot of good stuff about the philosophy purity made simple. after about a week I have started noticing a difference. the redness is gone, it is slowly taking away the existing pimples, and it is keeping away any new breakouts. my skin is soft and glowing. never have I felt my face to be soft and glowing! it is absolutely amazing! I should also mention that I use help me.
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
April 22, 2012

Pros:

Creamy texture

Cons:

Gave my entire forehead a rash

I had recently been struggling with a few breakouts so I decided to try Purity. That was a mistake. Honestly my entire forehead and chin broke out in fine bumps. It has been about a month and I still cannot seem to get rid of them. My skin has just broken out like crazy ever since I tried this product. It's so frustrating because I spent a lot of money on a Philosophy kit that didn't even work.
This Was Helpful

21 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 15, 2016
Me as well! :(
Anonymous
February 5, 2012
I love this product! I purchased this at sephora about a month ago to go with my clarisonic and i am very pleased. I love using this at night because it smells like something they would use for a facial at a spa, so it really relaxes me before i go to bed. My only complaint is the price but you get what you pay for and it is well worth the money. I would for sure recommend this to anyone who wants clear and bright skin.
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Delia
December 15, 2011

Pros:

Takes off all my makeup, even mascara
Does not dry my skin out

Cons:

Does not help breakouts or scars
Very expensive

I bought this cleanser from sephora and have been using it for the last several months. My skin is very sensitive and dry, and also very prone to breakouts.. cleansers with salicylic acid or BP are overdrying for me and just cause more acne. The great thing about this cleanser is it easily takes off ALL makeup,and leaves my skin very soft. It is not irritating at all and has not made my acne any worse, but it does absolutely nothing for pimples or hyperpigmentation. I'd recommend this cleanser only to people who are looking for a non-irritating, one step cleanser - but definitely not for those who need a little more strength for their acne.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report