Betadine : (Povidone-Iodine)

Brand:
Reviews
4.4
51 Reviews

Active ingredient:
Povidone-iodine, 10% (1% available iodine).

Inactive ingredients:
Purified water, sodium hydroxide.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
58.8%
4
27.5%
3
11.8%
2
0%
1
2%

Used Betadine : (Povidone-Iodine)? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 27, 2019
Perfect as topical treatment

I started using betadine as a spot treatment on non-cystic acne about 2 years ago. It dries out pimples (although not overnight) and appears to prevent further outbreaks around an open spot. Due to the color I only apply it at night.

August 5, 2015
Only thing since Accutane to help!
I've suffered from terrible acne since the 7th grade, and the only thing to improve my skin has been Accutane. While I was on it, my skin was clear, radiant and balanced rather than broken out and oily as before. This lasted for several years and my skin is STILL in way better condition than before, however, I've noticed break outs recently and the return of oil production. I stumbled across Betadine on a plastic surgereon's Instagram actually and so I decided to give it a try. It's cheap, easy to use, and best of all, I ordered it straight to my door. Now, with FABULOUS results, I have been using Betadine for about 3 weeks. I ordered the topical solution at 10%, not 7.5%, from Amazon. My morning regime consists of lightly scrubbing my face with PanOxyl and (this sounds weird but...) sea salt. Then, with a cotton ball, I apply the Betadine solution all over my face. Don't freak! It comes out as a vibrant orange brown! I let it dry for about 30 minutes, and I apply my makeup like usual on top of the dried solution. It seems discoloring but actually washes right off. You can do this at night if you don't wear makeup and find it more suitable. The improvements have been drastic- my skin for the first time since Accutane feels soft and clear. The oil production has calmed down, and hopefully soon, I won't have to wear foundation!
This Was Helpful

29 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 27, 2014
Cheap and it works!
I am a nurse, and I can tell you that Betadine is used every day, several times a day, by surgeons from fingers to elbows, scrubbing with a harsh plastic brush for 15 minutes before surgery. If it was dangerous they would not do this. It probably isn't marketed because it is CHEAP compared to all the other products out there. I have been fighting Rosacea for a few years and the recommendation was oral and/or topical antibiotics. Betadine is a topical antimicrobial! I mix it with my Cetaphyl gentle cleanser and gently scrub before bed for a couple of minutes with a buff puff, then rinse. This clears it up within 2-3 days and then I use it as maintenance every 2-3 days. Yes, some is absorbed but if you eat food every day you ingest iodine from the salt that is added to everything. If you have kidney or thyroid problems, best to check with your doctor first for regular use of Betadine. Otherwise, it has to be at least as safe (or safer) than oral antibiotics! I have enjoyed the improvement in my skin and not having to go to the dermatologist.
This Was Helpful

54 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 24, 2014
EXCELLENT HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
I use this in shower every morning and when i take one at night (especially after work or something, a long day). after i started using this, even the next day (i had this huge zit that was infected) started to go away.... it came to a head the next morning... i thoughht maybe coincdance. tried it again, every time i get something, i use this, and if it doesnt just go away, itll come to a full head and you can pull it out. instead of pushing, pull your skin away from the infected spot... then after it comes out, gently push and the rest if any will come out. this is amazing, tho i heard its not good long term for health, you may wanna look into that. i have not. i would rather deal with it cause everything kills you eventually.
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 12, 2013
Good for healing

Pros:

more pros than cons!

Cons:

watery
can stain clothes

I put this on two zits the other day and they reduced dramatically in size. I've been putting in on a huge area of cystic acne that's been there for about 2 months. It's not helping as well there, but it will work on the normal pimples. I like it and it's non-drying and doesn't really sting or burn.
This Was Helpful

24 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 18, 2013
Iodine
Please educate yourself about iodine before using this, especially if you are pregnant!! Iodine is absorbed into the blood stream, through your skin. It is a really important mineral, our bodies only need a small amount, and we don't produce it naturally, within the body. Many countries passed laws in the early-to-mid 1900's, adding it to salt because populations weren't getting enough of it. Some say we still don't. Too much iodine (in the body) can cause SERIOUS, long term health problems! I'd like to try topical iodine myself, because it seems to have fascinating healing properties - but I won't until I know for sure how much iodine I already have in my system, through a blood test. Applying Iodine to small areas seems much safer than spreading it all over your back, like the one reviewer.
This Was Helpful

23 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Neelie
January 4, 2013

Pros:

* Not expensive ($7-8 for generic)
* You don't need a lot

Cons:

* It's runny (but you can mix it with facial cleanser to apply)

I have been prone to cystic acne, but am now dealing with large pores in the T-zone of my face, and excessive oil in that area as well. Mixing generic Betadine with my Neutrogena Deep Clean Cleanser 2X per day has amazingly put a stop to that. I also apply a small amount of alpha hydrox Enhanced Lotion (approx. $10 online) on my face twice per day, right after cleansing. I can't believe the improvement! I wish each and everyone on this site sincere triumph over acne. God Bless!
This Was Helpful

16 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jessica
October 11, 2012

Pros:

Clears skin
Great spot treatment for new bumps
Halts cysts that are beginning
Makes skin soft

Cons:

Smell takes some getting used to
Makes skin very oily

I have used Doxycycline, Ive been on birth control, I have tried ProActiv, I have tried pretty much EVERY OTC product to clear my cystic acne. I cant remember how I came upon the idea of using Betadine, but I thought I would take the risk. What was the worst that could happen? Make my acne worse? I started using it and broke out slightly for the first few weeks. But I kept up with my regimen of washing every night before bed and now, 4 months later, I cant believe the results! My skin is very soft and I very rarely have breakouts! If I do have a new pimple or cyst, it is hormonal. Every niht I mix 4 drops of Betadine wit 3 pumps of Cetapyl for oily skin. I lather my face and use a face buffer to lightly scrub my face. After washing my face, I pat dry and will dab on some Betadine onto any new small spots, let it dry, then I apply VapoRub over it. They both work together to calm and dry any new spot and sometimes pulls it to a head. I cant say enough good tings about Betadine. It is the ONLY thing that as ever worked this wonderfully. I will continue to use tis product until a doctor orders me not to. I AM ACTUALLY CLEAR FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE I WAS 11!!!!!!!! :)
This Was Helpful

30 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 24, 2012

Pros:

i guess according to posts it clears acne
-antiseptic

Cons:

-kills cells
-chemical
-not getting to root of problem which is internal.

Ok guys didn't know if you know this but this is no different from alcohol, BP, butt creme, hydrocortizone, or any other antiseptic germ killing chemical you put on your face.You might as well put on clorox. Yes it will clear you up but what it does is kills your skin cells so in the long run you are doing more damage to yourselfs. just thought id let you all know. Use as a quick fix but seriously chnage your eating habits and live to love your body...much better results + a million...
Analeigh
June 23, 2012

Pros:

-Significantly reduces inflammation and acne
-Dries out skin (perfect for oily faces)

Cons:

-May be too drying for some people (Not for me!)

I add a few drops to my cleanser in my hand and wash my face with it morning and night. The most important thing to do is let it sit for a few minutes, if not longer. I let it sit while I brush my teeth and put on deodorant. I haven't had any break outs since I've used this and my face isn't an OILY MESS. By the way, I bought the generic brand from Rite Aide because it was a few dollars cheaper. It works great.
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report