Clean & Clear : Persa Gel 5

Brand:
Reviews
3.8
23 Reviews

Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide (5%). Inactive Ingredients: Benzyl alcohol, Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Laureth-4, Sodium Hydroxide, Water.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
39.1%
4
30.4%
3
13%
2
4.3%
1
13%

Used Clean & Clear : Persa Gel 5? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
July 10, 2015
Allergic Reaction
Used a very small amount of product on 2 spots on my face. Woke up the next morning with a swollen eye (think ogre!) and a hive-like rash. Now I'm at the doctor seeking treatment.
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 15, 2014
allergic reaction
Bad allergic reaction, didn't even put it on my eye lids, and both my eyelids/ face swollen and itchy with a rash. would never use this product again. Have never had an allergic reaction to a topical acne "solution" until now. Didn't help with acne.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 26, 2013
Works well!!

Pros:

Lessens the pimple in size
Gets rid of the oil in the pimple

Cons:

Has left white stains on my pillow case and some shirts!
Takes a long time to dry
Isn't 100% effective

I have combination skin, so my cheeks can feel dry while my chin nose and forehead got oily. 90% of the time the breakouts were on my chin, so I would put a little on the cream on my pimple before going to bed and in the morning wash if off( dries as a white, flaky circle). This is really good to have in case of emergency with a really oily pimple because it really dries it up! Do NOT spread it all over your face or layer it onto your acne, simply dot it on each individual pimple because it WILL dry and irritate your skin a LOT!
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Pat
March 7, 2013

Pros:

Kept my face clear and smooth all through high school
Not too harsh

Cons:

Dries out skin, use moisturizer
Stops working after a while

I used this on my face every night during my high school years, and it kept my skin beautiful and spotless. However after years of using it, it just kinda stopped working. I guess my skin got used to it. But it helped a ton in high school so I give it 5/5 hands down.
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Kent
November 19, 2012

Pros:

Cleans acne

Cons:

If used to much can dry out skin to much.

Kso, this product WILL clean you're acne, some people have said it has made my face worse.. well it's gutta get worse before it can get better. so KEEP USING IT, and use it as a spot treatment to, i have tried proactive, ALL the mainstream acne solvents. And if you have used this for a month and there is still acne, move up to the persa-gel 10, The one thing is, is that when i first got it i was so excited i put the thing on 5 times a day,, no no... face looked like a cracker, Use it once a day before you go to sleep, don't need to rinse you're face or anything, just enough to cover you're face, you're face will reel really tight, try not to streach you're face becuase when you leave it tight, it dosent let anything else in you;re pores, so over all EXCELLENT product, and a 100% buy.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
bob
March 25, 2012

Cons:

Smells bad
I had an allergic reaction to it
Expensive
Small tube

I don't really have too much acne, but I bought it because I do breakout and it gets bad. I'm kind of disappointed because everyone was giving it such good reviews and I thought I would try it. I honestly had the worst allergic reaction to it and got a small rash all over my face. It may work for some people but did not for me.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 30, 2011

Pros:

For a BP product, it does not dry too much
Use on large area or as spot treatment, depending on your skin.
No alcohol

I have used this for the better part of a week, followed up with Clean & Clear Deep Cleaning Astringent (Oil free). This is a nice strong product, but not overly powerful that it made my skin overly itchy or flaky. It has BP in it, so it's going to dry your skin somewhat. My acne has not cleared up yet but the spots look a bit smaller and less red, and no new zits have formed. Depending on your skin can be used over large areas or as a spot treatment. Too soon to say if this is a great product but for the price I would recommend it over Oxy pads and other BP products that I have tried (many of which contain lots of alcohol).
Anonymous
December 27, 2011

Pros:

Clears cystic acne

Cons:

skin slightly dry

Great for spot treatment. Used on a cystic pimple. Redness and swelling reduced significantly. Will only use when needed.
Teen girl
December 26, 2011

Pros:

Minimized some acne in the beginning
Easy to find
Not too expensive

Cons:

itchy
made face red
didn't help that much with acne problem

When I tried this product the first time it actually worked... it had clear some of my acne. Automatically I thought that it would be acne free so i kept using the correct amount of the product. After about 2 months or less my face was red and itchy and more acne started to appear. This may have been an allergic reaction or something but initially when I first got it I was unharmed. Then I stopped using it all together and used it as a spot treatment (I thought I was using too much). It didn't work. I was red and itchy but only in the spots where i had put it as a spot treatment. Thank goodness I stopped! So now I have stopped for goo
August 23, 2011

Pros:

-gel so easy to put and it doesn't take a long time to sink in to skin
-doesn't drie out skin
-doesn't leave skin itchy or red
-easy to find
-not too badly priced

Cons:

-kind of expensive
-wish they would make a bigger tube

THIS GOT RID OF MY ACNE. IT DIDN'T DRY ME OUT It got rid of the pimples, pretty fast too. I swear by this stuff.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report