Azithromycin (Zithromax) : Oral Antibiotic

Brand:
Reviews
3.4
34 Reviews

Active Ingredients: 250 mg or 500 mg Azithromycin. Inactive Ingredients: Dibasic calcium phosphate anhydrous, pregelatinized starch, sodium croscarmellose, magnesium stearate, sodium lauryl sulfate, hypromellose, lactose, titanium dioxide, triacetin and D&C Red #30 aluminum lake.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
41.2%
4
17.6%
3
5.9%
2
5.9%
1
29.4%

Used Azithromycin (Zithromax) : Oral Antibiotic? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
September 8, 2018
Love it so far!
I have been struggling with acne my entire life and tried LITERALLY everything. I was using veltin topical cream recently from my old dermatologist and noticed my face only getting worse than ever after 7 weeks. So, I went to a new dermatologist and she put me on Azithromycin 500 mg, 3x a week, for one month. Next month, if it is doing well, I am lowering the dosage and continuing this process for 3-4 months. I have only taken it for a week so far and my face is AMAZING! I obviously still have the scars and my old zits are still recovering, plus I am on two topical creams, but my face seriously has cleared up dramatically and it almost has a glow to it. I do have minor stomach pains with this medicine but I personally think it is worth it if this is the one thing that will actually help clear up my acne. Definitely give it a try! If it isn't for you, it is just as easy to go off of it and not deal with the side effects anymore.
March 19, 2018
Very Helpful!
I have been all over when it comes to acne products. From taking Doxycycline to taking Minocycline, which caused my whole body to break out into an awful case of hives. I went back to the dermatologist a few weeks after recovering from my hives, I wasn't taking a oral medication at the time, but I was using Onexton in the morning and Tazorac 0.5% at night. Once I went back, my dermatologist prescribed me Azithromycin 250mg once every other day. As well as the topicals Aczone in the morning, and Tazorac 0.1% at night. I have seen a very good improvement with my moderate acne in a very short period of time. Don't be alarmed if you have a bad initial breakout, the medication will clear it up in a fast time period. I have experienced diarrhea because of this medication, but I would recommend Azithromycin, it can make a huge difference.
November 13, 2017
Do not use for acne
I was prescribed this for a sinus infection. I've always had 2 or 3 pimples here and there. After taking this medicine my whole entire face is completely covered in tiny white bumps. Both cheeks, my forehead, my chin. Everything. This is the worst i have ever seen my skin. I have cried twice today and do not want to go into public. Considering calling into work tomorrow it is so bad. (It did help tons with my sinus infection).
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 3, 2017
Worst antibiotic ever
I regret taking this.. did completely nothing, just made me break out soooo bad. I don't know why this is even being used in treating acne
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 6, 2016
The only thing that helped- made a HUGE improvement
I'm a 20 year old female also using Yaz bcp, tretinoin (0.1%), and topical clindamyacin. When I had my mirena IUD removed and started the yaz I got the most severe horrific acne I had ever experienced. My acne went from mild/moderate (bounced between the two dependent on my sleep and stress level) to very severe. My face was bright red and it felt like I went from patches of acne to covering every single pore on my face. My doctor put me on 40mgs prednisone and doxycycline. Very minimal change. After about 3 weeks of minimal change she put me on 250mgs of azithromyacin 3x weekly and we've slowly been dropping the prednisone. Within the 1st week, my acne cleared about 30-40%, 2nd week cleared 50-60%, 3rd week 60-70% (started getting patches of smooth clear skin again!!!), and by the 4th week I'm at a solid 80% clear. Obviously not where I want to permanently be, BUT SO SO SO MUCH BETTER. If doxy and mino don't work how you hope, try azithromyacin!
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 4, 2016
Pimples Galore
I've had completely clear skin for most of my adult life until I was prescribed this for a mild ear infection. Not only did it not cure or even help my ear, it turned my face into a mine field. My cheeks are peeling and a new white head pops up every few hours. All I need are a set of braces and I'm a pubescent teenager again. I would not recommend this to anyone for anything.
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 3, 2015
Amazing accidental results
I was prescribed this antibiotic to help get rid of a cold. Before I started taking the pills, I had some small bumps on my face and a few bigger pimples. After the 4th day my skin completely cleared up and I didn't know why. I attributed results to the fact that I had not worn makeup while I was sick. Two days after my last dose, I got two nasty pimples one on each of my cheeks. I was still on my no makeup streak. That's when it dawned on me, that it had been the antibiotics that had cleared my face. It really worked wonders for me. I have been struggling with acne sice I hit puberty. I'm honestly considering asking my doctor to write me a prescription to treat my acne.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 8, 2015
Absolutely Ridiculous
I used to have a few number of pauples and at times an occasional pustules when I decided to go for this drug.But what it did was more harm than good.I saw no improvements at all.My skin literally went haywire.I started getting big pustules all over my cheeks and forehead and quite a few number of cysts as well.And those bastard cysts didn't forget to scar my face. So what I ask you people is to not go for this one.Antibiotics can also harm your skin as they kill good bacteria as well.If you still choose antibiotics,pick something from the tetracycline family. Azithromycin was never meant to treat acne.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 11, 2013

Pros:

Helps get rid of bronchitis and pneumonia.

Cons:

Clears acne? Never did for me... Aside from that, some people have a genetic susceptibility to developing DEAFNESS with mycin antibiotics.

I would save this antibiotic for severe lung infections.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Katherine
August 13, 2012

Pros:

Nothing.

Cons:

Upset stomach.
Acne got really bad.

I have taken minocycline for 2 years, occasionally switching to another one but I always end up back on minocycline. My skin is very good on minocycline but my doctor decided to have me try this one to see if it would get it even better. My acne is so bad right now it's ridiculous. It's like I'm not even taking a pill for it. My doctor told me few weeks ago when I asked to switch back to wait for a couple more weeks to see if it improves. It's only gotten worse. This is the worst my skin has ever been.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report