Neutrogena : Oil-Free Anti-Acne Moisturizer

Brand:
Reviews
4.0
27 Reviews

Active Ingredient:
Salicylic Acid (2%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Matricaria Flower Extract, Menthyl Lactate, Glyceryl Stearate, Palmitic Acid, Stearic Acid, Dimethicone, Peg-100 Stearate, Sodium Isostearoyl Lactylate, Propylene Glycol Isostearate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Carbomer, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Disodium Edta, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Fragrance.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
40.7%
4
29.6%
3
18.5%
2
7.4%
1
3.7%

Used Neutrogena : Oil-Free Anti-Acne Moisturizer? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
Daryl
March 31, 2013

Pros:

Goes on nicely and absorbs well.
It's very light and has a nice smell.
It helps with dryness or flakiness.
Skin feels hydrated after using it.
Cheap.

Cons:

It can make the skin look quite sweaty, especially on a sunny day.
Sometimes requires reapplying in the middle of the day.
The product itself is small and does not last long if used morning (on days without sun) and night.

I've used this on and off for around 2 years and for the price it certainly does a decent job. I've found it works well to control flakiness, especially if on benzoyl peroxide. The problem is if your skin can be oily, this will make it look slightly worse. This moisturiser can give a "sweaty look" to your face as if you've been working out, but if used sparingly and rubbed in gently enough it's just a light shine that is manageable.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Aaliyah
February 6, 2011

Pros:

Oil-Free (Important while suffering from acne)
Sunscreen
Hydrates
Smoothes and evens out skin tone
Helps during Benzoyl peroxide 2.5% regime
Absorbs quickly
No oily face

Cons:

Small tube, could do with a palmers size! (hint hint Neutrogena)

Basically the one I brought isn't exactly this item but very similar. The one I'm using is named "Visibly Clear Oil-Free Moisturiser" I started the BP Regime 2 weeks ago and the moisturiser i was using before "Palmers" was too oily for my face and I didnt want to ruin my progress of fighting the acne! So I brought this one I have only been using this product for a week during the BP Regime and it seems to be working just great. I do use 3 times a day though. Be sure to give it a try what halm can it do.
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 17, 2011

Pros:

Fragrance Free
Feels Light
None-Greasy

Cons:

Doesn't hydrate my dry skin enough
When used in the regimen (after BP)
• Strange tingling sensation which can be quite overwhelming on cold days
• A bit of facial reddening

When I use this straight after my cleanser - it's great, but when used after BP, it caused a burning sensation and some reddening, think an active ingredient in this doesn't agree with BP.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April
August 22, 2010

Pros:

-Very light so is absorbed quickly
-Non greasy
-Smells fresh
-Leaves skin feeling moisturised but non sticky/oily

Cons:

Doesn't get rifd of acne

A really good everyday moisturiser but doesnt get rid of acne. I did find however that it helped reduces the severity of my acne, and it helped prevent large pimples
Anonymous
June 26, 2010

Pros:

great smell. absorbs well. helps with break-outs. skin looks great.

Cons:

none

I find this at Big Lots once in a while for $4.50. I get all they have when they have it. I love it!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
FreshSkin83
August 23, 2009

Pros:

Goes on smooth, absorbs well, smells good, has salicylic acid

Cons:

doesn't moisturize as good as say Lubriderm. Small 1.7 oz tube for around $5 - $7 depending on where you get it. Cannot find it in stores. Must get it online.

Bottom line is it doesn't moisturize as good as say Lubriderm but I like that fact that it has Salicylic acid in it and is working for me throughout the day. A little expensive for the size of the tube but I have had good results with it so you cannot put a price on that. I use this along with Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash in the liquid pump.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Maria
July 20, 2009

Pros:

its OK - cheap product

Cons:

cheap

I am 35 with olive skin. I still get light acne and my skin does NOT like heavy creams as each attempt has been accompanied with breakouts. I have used various fade-creams in the past, but found them to be too heavy for all over face use, yet at 35- I need all-over moisture! I recommend the Rosehip & Hibiscus Serum (from the Made from Earth skin care line) which is non-greasy and my skin looked significantly better after only two days of use- more even toned and bright, less dull and splotchy. I have a patch of melasma on my upper lip (due to 15 years of being on the pill) and after a week I have noticed that it has markedly faded and my face seems much more elastic and vibrant. I highly recommend it! you can find them at [link removed].
Rachel
April 14, 2009

Pros:

great scent. absorbs nicely on skin. helps fight acne. the reddness in on my face decreased within the first two days.

Cons:

I cannot find this moisturizer anywhere. I have looked at every drug store and grocery store within a 20 mile radius. Ordering it online gets expensive.

worth the extra hassle to order.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Theo
March 15, 2009

Pros:

It absorbs fast, it gives a fresh feeling and it smells good.

Cons:

Doesn't work a lot on acne. However I think it makes them a little bit smaller.

I wouldn't recommend this product since I've found similar products (from Yves-Rocher) that is only slightly more expensive than this moisturizer.
Jesse
March 7, 2009

Pros:

Smells good

Cons:

Didnt help my acne AT ALL! made my skin super dry

Not the greatest acne remover