Cortaid : Hydrocortisone (1%) Cream

Brand:
Reviews
3.9
32 Reviews

Cortaid Brand Active Ingredients: Hydrocortisone (1%). Inactive Ingredients: Aloe Vera Gel, Benzyl Alcohol, Ceteareth 20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Isopropyl Myristate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Methylparaben, Mixed Fatty Acid Esters, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Purified Water.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
46.9%
4
21.9%
3
12.5%
2
9.4%
1
9.4%

Used Cortaid : Hydrocortisone (1%) Cream? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 24, 2017
Use cortisone liquid - not cream
The problem with cream is that it is greasy, which is not good for cystic acne. So in the shampoo section of the drug store look for Scalpicin. This is 1 percent cortisone in an alcohol base. (avoid generics - they use different active ingredients) Don't put this on your whole face - but it is great for individual outbreaks. What I do is pour some into a jar and let it evaporate a bit (to get a higher concentration) then use a q-tip to dab it on the cyst. Do this a few times a day. The cyst will get smaller - sometimes it has even gone completely in a day. Really good stuff
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 12, 2016
Cortisone works real well.
This stuff works really well along with other itch creams. It reduces the swelling and dries up the pimple. But now, I shall tell you the acne clearing GOD of all time. It is an itch cream, but for bites. It is, behold, the all and powerful, Chiggerex Plus! OMG I LOVE THIS THING. It is literally FRIGGIN AMAZING. the first time I ever used it, it didn't do anything. Second night, 3 of my scars were gone, and what was a enormous pimple, a small red dot appeared. I put this stuff on every night before I go to bed. I try to tell all my friends about it. This thing is seriously a miracle worker. And funny thing, it works for bug bites too. I really wish I could post a photo for you guys. Again, it is called Chiggerex plus, for chigger, tick and all bug bites. Fast, soothing releif. (It really does work for bites too.) GET THIS STUFF. SERIOUSLY. LIFE CHANGING. JUST DO IT.
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 21, 2015
Cortisone is dangerous to your skin!
Stay away from using any creams, ointments, gels which include cortisone. Cortisone is unsafe to use on the skin for long term use as itcan cause a number of permanent side effects. Skin reddening, skin atrophy and skin thinning just to name a few. Look for products without cortisone if you want to protect your skin.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 20, 2015
4 Stars for helping scars
in my opinion this is not a cure for acne as it works by removing a layer of ski. I know this as i use it for my eczema and it works wonders for it . I have used this on acne scars and its made them less visible and no one but my self really knows they are there.However as this is an eczema treatment it may contain liquid paraffin which can cause spots as it clogs pours. i recommend going to see your doctor about treatments and if they don't work they can refer you to a dermatologist. In my opinion antibiotics are the best for acne and this cream or any scar creams to fade acne marks/scars.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 25, 2014
Hydrocortisone Cream is my new cure for Acne.
I have mild hormonal acne only around my jawline (chin and upper mouth area). I recently bought some hyrocortisone cream because I had a weird breakout on my cheek and I NEVER breakout there so I suspected it was a rash. I still don't know if they were pimples or not, but after a day of using it, the hydrocortisone cream completely eliminated them! I then thought, maybe this will work on these three big painful pimples on my chin? What do ya know? I've been using it for about 3 days now and they've reduced in size by at least half and are shrinking by the day. They are not painful anymore and one is almost completely gone. I also apply this with benzoyl peroxide 5% by Clearasil to speed up the effect but the hydrocortisone works great on its own! I also use polysporin to heal the pimples during the night.
This Was Helpful

23 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 12, 2013
Best for painful nodules

Pros:

Relieves pain
Relieves redness

Cons:

Doesn't improve the time to go away

It doesn't really improve the time it takes for nodules to go away. It does make it a lot less painful though.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
August 26, 2012

Pros:

I have tried this a few times for acne cysts/nodules on my chin and nose area. The first time I used it, I applied it right when I started to feel the cyst coming up and after 2 days with application morning and night, the cyst stopped hurting and shrunk. The same thing happened the other times I used this cream! It doesn't work as fast as a cortisone shot from the derm, but it's cheaper and if you are patient, it will work to take out some of the inflammation.

Cons:

May thin the skin area if applied to often or for long periods of time. Use sparingly and only when you really need it.

Give it a try, it's cheap and it might work wonders for you!
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
March 9, 2012

Pros:

made my cyst bigger, redder, overall acne worse

Cons:

nothing

I used hydrocortisone on my cystic acne and next day it was 10 times worse, bigger horrible...please don't use it...and get a cortisone shot if that what you are looking for
February 3, 2012

Pros:

Noticeable difference overnight, reduces redness and size.

Cons:

A little greasy

I have hormonal cystic breakouts on my neck and jawline and I've tried everything including internal and topical medications. NOTHING worked, except getting the cysts injected, which obviously I couldn't do every day. I tried Cortaid cream first on my chest at night (for a light/minor breakout) and it was basically gone by the next morning. I tried it on my face the following night and it brought the redness and size of the cysts down hugely. Totally affordable and effective. Definitely worth a try. I recommend putting it on at night because it is a little greasy and doesn't really work under makeup.
This Was Helpful

18 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
December 22, 2011

Pros:

Within 2 days I had noticeable improvement

Cons:

none

after 3 months of having painful large red cysts and trying everything else, it was the hydrocortisone that finally got rid of the cysts completely in a week's time - I was considering going to the dermatologist to have the cysts injected with cortisone but thought I'd try the topical cream first, so happy I did
This Was Helpful

15 user(s) found this helpful

Report