Polysporin : First Aid Antibiotic Ointment

Brand:
Reviews
4.1
18 Reviews

Active Ingredients:
Bacitracin Zinc (500 units) and Polymyxin B Sulfate (10,000 units).

Inactive Ingredients:
White Petrolatum Base.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
44.4%
4
33.3%
3
11.1%
2
11.1%
1
0%

Used Polysporin : First Aid Antibiotic Ointment? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
August 21, 2015
surprisingly pretty good!
i just tried this out on my face, i've been using this for years on wounds and it's always worked super fast. it works good on acne too! for me, it doesn't clog my pores and in one night a big nasty zit i had shrunk into less than half its size. i will continue using this as a quick spot treatment.
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Sarah
February 27, 2013

Pros:

-Gets rid of pimples/acne in less than 4 days
-Heals scabs
-Gets rid of under eye wrinkles
-Polysporin is a moisturizer for the skin
-Lastly polysporin is a great ways to kill germs on the skin because its an antibiotic.

Cons:

-Can sometimes make the skin irritate.

Polysporin is a good antibiotic for kids and/or adults it helps with many problems.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 13, 2012

Pros:

Heals pimple scabs quick
Fades dark acne spots
Clears acne
Kills bacteria

Cons:

Shiny looking

It is awesome Some people say it cloggs pores but it doesn't Well it does of you rub it in. I like to dab a big blotch on my spots an leave it on over night. It takes a couple days to fade almost completely but results are noticed in one night
This Was Helpful

15 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 10, 2011

Pros:

helps popped pimples from scaring
clears popped pimples

Cons:

clogs pores if applied to places other than the popped pimple
really oily

Polysporin is really good cuz it prevents from scarring and infections whish is good but you should onlt apply it on the spot NOT YOUR ENTIRE FACE.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Margo
July 29, 2011

Pros:

-makes popped pimples heal faster
-good for broken skin
-doesn't dry out skin

Cons:

-can clog pores
-oily appearance

Whenever I apply it on my face and I have small pimples, it makes the cystic ones bigger and makes new cystic pimples appear after a while that I had it on so I washed it off and disinfected it whit hydrogen peroxide and it got rid of it . It does clog pores which is a big downside :/ But I recommend it for popped pimples and scabs
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Adrian P.
April 6, 2010

Pros:

-Clears acne fast
-Helps clear scars
-Hydrates skin
-Cheap and works

Cons:

-makes face shiny

I had 3 new obnoxious pimples pop up one day. I washed my face with Spectro jel and Kiss My Face moisturizer with aloe and olive oild, applied my Benzoyl peroxide then applied a hefty application of polysporin all over my face. The next morning the new pimples that would have probably turned into more serious cystic like acne were already clearing up and within 3 days of this same regime they were gone. Does Polysporin work? My face will prove it if you ever knew me. Some people don't recommend it since it may "breed" resistant bacteria. However, acne is caused by oil production under the skin surface. Polysporin is a quick and effective way to clear acne for me that I see as an excellent short term and possibly long term (I haven't used it long enough to say). I am not a doctor. Doctors may tell you this won't work and that it's a bad idea. All I know is that I used to have moderately bad acne and it's cleared up very fast.
This Was Helpful

38 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Megan
September 14, 2009

Pros:

nothing

Cons:

its greasy, and clogs pores

1
julia
August 4, 2009

Pros:

polysporn is amazing for healing acne overnight! you can run ure hand over the affected area and its noticibly smoother! make sure you clean ure face before you apply the polyspron.

Cons:

in order for your affected areas to totally disapear, you might have to use it a couple nights. (depending on how severe your acne is)

it's amazing!
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Josh
June 9, 2009

Pros:

Heals Scars and reduces size of pimples

Cons:

it's Greasy and sometimes clogs pores

Neosporin is a better alternative. The cream doesn't clog pores, goes on easier, and is much less hasel with much better results. I use it when i accidently break open a group of pimples or have a bad breakout. I only suggest using polysporin at night due to how greasy it is. I ONLY SUGGEST IT FOR OCCASIONAL USE.
This Was Helpful

22 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Andros Kimmell
May 31, 2009

Pros:

As for the appearance of scars helped slightly

Cons:

Takes forever, forever to rub in. Cannot be used on the chin because it will cause breakouts.

I put it on an old scar near my lip and the next day had broken out that area the worst its been in years