CeraVe : Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM

Brand:
Reviews
3.3
15 Reviews

Aluminum starch octenylsuccinate, behentrimonium methosulfate, boron nitride, carbomer, ceramide 1, ceramide 3, ceramide 6-ii, cetearyl alcohol, cholesterol, dimethicone, disodium edta, glycerin, hyaluronic acid, hydroxyethylcellulose, methylparaben, niacinamide, phytosphingosine, propylparaben, purified water, sodium lauroyl lactylate, xanthan gum.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
20%
4
33.3%
3
13.3%
2
20%
1
13.3%

Used CeraVe : Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
August 17, 2015
Very Moisturizing but beware of white streaks
The CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM is a good moisturizer if you are need in moisture for your skin. My skin is Oily combination dark skin with an oily T-Zone but I had previously been using a benzoyl peroxide cleanser that dried out my face. So I was in need of a moisturizer that would moisturize my skin from the drying that it had undergone. This moisturizer is kind of thick and smells like sunscreen, but it is moisturizing. The downside of this moisturizer is, that when putting it on, it leaves a white cast on my face. So I have to wait about 5-10 minutes for it to fully absorb completely into my skin. It contains 3.5% Zinc Oxide this is the cause of the white cast or streaks that you see. But once its absorbed you don't see it and my skin feels really moisturized. I found patting it on the skin is a little better than rubbing it in on my skin. So I am going to give it 4 stars because it does what it is supposed to do but I don't like the feel of applying sunblock on my skin. And washing it off. But as far as moisture goes it has a lot of benefits ceramides which attract moisture to the skin and has ingredients that protect from UV rays. So give it a try!
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 9, 2015
Not Good For Acne Sufferers
This does not seem to moisturize very well. Also, because it contains sunscreen, it should not be used on damaged or broken skin (as labeled on the package). Many acne sufferers have broken skin (especially when first starting use of benzoyl peroxide). Besides that, it makes your face very pale. When applying over benzoyl peroxide, the moisturizer can clump. This is not completely avoidable, but allowing the benzoyl peroxide to completely dry, along with gently rubbing a generous amount helps. After the moisturizer dries, brush off the flakes.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 30, 2015
Good
I use this every morning before i put on makeup and it works great! I have acne and this product does not make me get anymore acne. I recommend this product for anybody who wants a facial moisturizer that works good if you put in on before makeup and does nto make you break out any more than usual.
November 8, 2014
Best drugstore option for me
I have used this for awhile and it's the sunscreen I use when I run out of my favorite sunscreens because this one is easy to get at an drugstore and is affordable. This has a nice consistency, but if you had oily skin/live in a humid climate it will turn your face oily quick during the day. I can't use this in the summertime because my skin gets way too oily and also it doesn't provide adequate UVA protection. This sunscreen for me is truly a last resort. My skin is sensitive, and I experience flushing when I apply this, but it goes away after awhile. I can't apply it around my eyes because it irritates them a lot, I experience redness, burning, and I start tearing up to the point I can't see anymore, that's probably because of the chemical sunscreen components in this. I would strongly advise not using this around your eyes. What I like about this is how moisturizing and repairing it is, my skin feels so supple and moisturized when I've been using this, even after I take it off.
August 2, 2014
Could have been better
I've been trying to find a sunscreen that doesn't leave my skin dry and dehydrated. This sunscreen is seriously the perfect consistency. It's not drying but it's not oily looking either. Unfortunately the packaging says it only protects from sunburns leading me to assume that this isn't a broad spectrum sunscreen as sunburns are in the territory of UVB rays. Unfortunately for lazy me I would rather not have to wear another sunscreen in order to get that UVA protection (I find UVA protection far more important than UVB). But if you can deal with layering two sunscreens this is freaking awesome.
June 15, 2013
Good moisturizer and SPF

Pros:

Cheap
No breakouts
SPF 30

Cons:

Takes awhile to soak into the skin
I notice I sweat more when I wear it.

I use all CeraVe products to manage my skin, the entire line is very easy and gentle to use. I use this as a everyday SPF it has a 30 SPF which is hard to find in a moisturizer. Takes a bit for it to work into the skin though. Makeup goes nicely over the product. It smells nice and doesn't break me out. I have lots of issues with SPF on my face. I almost always break out so I was happy to find this product.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 27, 2012

Cons:

expensive
caused horrible breakouts

I want to just start off by saying I use the Cerave hydrating cleanser twice a day and I absolutely love it on my skin. It does not cause any breakouts and keeps my skin soft and moisturized. With that being said, I decided to branch out and try Cerave's AM lotion and this product was absolutely HORRIBLE on my skin. Within 24 hours of using, I had 5 HUGE whiteheads on the side of my chin. I'm not talking about regular whiteheads, but big painful bumps that were ready to explode- there was literally no hiding it with any amount of makeup- and let's not forget to mention how painful they were. That being said, I discontinued using this product and my face went back to normal. I was extremely disappointed with this product; I really love Cerave's face washes but this AM lotion was an absolute nightmare on my face.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 26, 2022
Did you develop most of the modules on your chin and jawline?
May 6, 2012

Pros:

Wonderful sunscreen
Dries quickly
Able to apply makeup within minutes of applying
Doesn't break me out

Cons:

A little expensive

I will but this product over and over again. I love the CeraVe brand!
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Paige
August 17, 2011

Pros:

very gentle & soothing
does not make acne worse
zinc improves skin inflammation
heals blemish scars faster
works well under makeup (but let it dry all the way)

Cons:

none

I use this in the morning and night even though its a sunscreen. I have very sensitive skin & break out a lot -- I was scared to try this thinking it would cause me to break out...but this has totally improved the condition of my skin. It doesn't fight acne, but the zinc helps sooth irritated skin. I even put this around my eye area--other products only burn there, so this is a very gentle formula. love! (I use this after Proactive, and it works well under makeup--an awesome primer because it dries sort of matte, but dewy at the same time)
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Tony
July 15, 2011

Pros:

Inexpensive, great brand of products

Cons:

smells like sunscreen, doesn't absorb well with bp regime, leaves white streaks

I like the other CereVe products and was using the PM and regular lotion so tried this as a free sample but did not like it all. Doesn't absorb when using BP, sunscreen smell, leaves white streaks so I went back to the regular lotion but still looking for a good suncreen product to work with dan's regime. used to use eucerin skin renewal but sadly they stopped making it and I've yet to find any substitute
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report