Dermalogica : Dermal Clay Cleanser

Brand:
Reviews
4.1
56 Reviews

Balm Mint, Balm Mint Extract, Safflower (Carthamus tinctorius) Oil, Butylene Glycol, Kaolin, Disodium Cocoamphodipropionate, Glyceryl Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Sorbitan Oleate, Montmorillonite (Green Clay), Sodium Magnesium Silicate, Extracts Of:, Mallow (Malva Sylvestris), Cucumber (Cucumis Saitvus), Sambucus Nigra, Arnica Montana, Pellitory (Parietaria Officinalis), Watercress (Nasturtium Officinale), Burdock (Arctium Lappa), Sage (Salvia Officinalis), Lemon (citrus medica limonium), Ivy (hedera helix), Saponaria Officinalis, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Sorbitan Trioleate, Menthol, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Benzophenone-4, Tetrasodium EDTA, Propylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
42.9%
4
33.9%
3
16.1%
2
1.8%
1
5.4%

Used Dermalogica : Dermal Clay Cleanser? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
June 22, 2015
Great cleanser
Really good cleanser. Very different from anything I have used before with its thick texture. The minty/tingly feeling on your skin makes your face feel so fresh and that breakouts are being calmed down and that excess oil is being washed away. Still prefer the Special Cleansing Gel from Dermalogica but this is a close second.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 14, 2014
For oily skin only!
For those on the oilier side, this stuff is great. I save it mostly for summer use. Good texture and super refreshing. Not recommended for those with dry skin though.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Nicole
August 3, 2012

Pros:

Cleans well
Includes clay which is great for skin
Not too expensive
Not greasy
Doesn't leave a film behind

Cons:

Not for sensitive acne-prone skin
Irritating
Leaves bumps and redness

I have acne but sensitive skin in which will flare up if it doesn't like a product. I was recently told by a sales associate in Ulta that if you have sensitive skin, you should not be using this line even if you have some acne because it is like a step down from prescription products and is very irritating for sensitive skin. I took hr suggestion and bought B. Right by Benefit which is for all skin types and is gentle enough for sensitive skin and it was an overnight tranformation! Most of the redness was gone-it actually looked like skin again! All of the little tiny bumps and pimples that dermalogica left behind was almost gone! I liked this line but I guess if you just have some acne but are sensitive this is too strong for you. It is probably the most frustrating skin problem in the world because you want to get rid of your acne and congested pores but everything turns you red! Hope this helps anyone with the same problem!
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 7, 2012

Pros:

Thoroughly cleanses the skin without stripping the acid mantle and upsetting the skin's balance.
Doesn't make acne worse.
Ideal while treating with prescription topicals (such as Benzoyl Peroxide)
Helps clear smaller spots.
A little goes a long way.
Makes your skin all nice and tingly :D

Cons:

Expensive but hey it's wonderful.

This was a product I got in my oily skin kit recommended to me by a friend at work. It's ace I'm totally addicted! I hold no illusions as to a cleansers ability to totally clear my skin up. All I ask for is one that will deep cleanse as much surface oil as possible without drying it out and upsetting my skin. This product does all of those things and I'm almost through my second small bottle so far and a third larger bottle is in the post :) If you're an acne sufferer like me and you're just after a gentle cleanser that makes your skin feel soothed and well balanced then Dermal Clay Cleanser is an awesome option. Love it.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
karl
June 10, 2011

Pros:

since is started using this product my normally oily, acne-prone skin has been clear and more matte than ever. i use it in conjunction with john masters toner for oily skin and darphin skin mat serum.

Cons:

none really. i think some of the other folks with negative statements just haven't found the right product for their skin. you can't blame dematologica for that.

awesome product!
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 1, 2011

Pros:

made my skin feel softer than a baby's bum!

Cons:

Made me break out like crazy.

I have very sensitive skin with an oily T-zone and dry cheeks. The first few days of using this product I thought I was in heaven. My skin was so soft my boyfriend couldn't stop talking about it. But then after about 4 days I broke out all over my face. Every day it was multiple pimples, surfacing all throughout the day. Really it was horrible. I stopped using and my skin has really calmed down but it's never been the same.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jasmine
October 26, 2010

Pros:

None

Cons:

Ruined my skin

After 2 months of using this product and other products in the range I now have acne whereas I used to only have a few pimples. My doctor has put me on antibiotics but has said that it will take months to clean up. The beauty place I bought it from said it had to get worse before it would get better - if you are told this DO NOT LISTEN I have never been so depressed in all my life.
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Rater
July 31, 2010

Pros:

cleans good and leaves skin feeling fresh. did not make me break out.

Cons:

has harsh ingredients, parabens are one of them.

If you dont know what parabens are, google it. to make it quick its chemical that acts like "estrogen" a female hormone so that gets absorbed into your blood and can play with your hormone levels, can cause breast cancer and for guys well lets just say you wouldnt want more estrogen than testosterone lol. so I'm going all natural now, in search of a new organic product with no harsh ingredients.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Denise
August 9, 2009

Pros:

It works wonderful. I use this product and it shrunk my pores and I was acne free. I have tried everything. Proactive, Mary kay, and Neutragena. This medically is best for me. I love the way this product makes my face feel. Its like a spa at home.

Cons:

It is inconvenient to get some. You have to go to a specialist to get some or order online but it is still worth it.

The other products I have used works ok but nothing as good as the dermal clay cleanser for me personally. Must try
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
July 31, 2009

Pros:

Good for oily t-zones and makes your skin feel really clean as it has a kind of tingly sensation

Cons:

Didnt do anything for the spots on my jawline

I only bought this on a whim as my usual facewash (the anti bac skin wash) was sold out. Kind of wish I hadnt bothered.