Cetaphil : Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 50+

Brand:
Reviews
3.0
11 Reviews

Active Ingredients:
Octinoxate 7.5%, Octisalate (5%), Octocrylene (7%), Oxybenzone 6%, Titanium Dioxide (5.7%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Dimethicone, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG 100 Stearate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Dimethiconol, Disodium EDTA, Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E), Cyclopentasiloxane, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylparaben, Chlorphenesin, Cetyl Alcohol, Acrylates/C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Methylparaben, Xanthan Gum.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
27.3%
4
18.2%
3
9.1%
2
18.2%
1
27.3%

Used Cetaphil : Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 50+? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
July 26, 2019
Very good

This a great sunscreen but it is quite oily

January 29, 2019
oily and heavy

I saw someone else write pretty much what I wanted to write too - very heavy and oily on my skin. I couldn't wait to get it off and ironically, that day I did get burned even while wearing it.  Came home and threw it in the trash. Total waste of money.

Kim
August 15, 2011

Pros:

Great sun protection; full spectrum
Not too greasy
Convenient packaging
Didn't cause a breakout!

Cons:

Pricey

Sunscreen is sunscreen. You aren't going to get great sun protection with something that absorbs instantly into your skin and leaves no residue whatsoever--that's just not how sunscreen works. As far as sunscreens go, though, this is hands-down my favourite. It's got a typical sunscreen consistency and smell, but used sparingly, it does go on clear and isn't terribly greasy. The small pump tube was great for traveling, and I used it as my exclusive moisturizer for a 10-day vacation without any breakouts. Plus, I'm allergic to many products, but had no reactions to this one. Love it!!
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Becca
October 24, 2010

Pros:

Excellent sun protection- UVA/UVB
Moisturizes very effectively
A little goes a long way
Effective against flakes caused by BP
Very gentle- great for sensitive skin
Doesn't cause breakouts

Cons:

A little pricey, but no more than others
Must be used sparingly

If you're looking for spf in a moisturizer, this is a great way to go. I have very oily skin, and I don't understand how everyone else could have had such bad experiences. My guess is that they are following the advice in Dan's regimen and using LOTS of it. It wasn't designed to be used that way. I use just a tiny bit all over my face, concentrating on the areas where I get the most flakes. I use it every evening and morning, and I'm convinced that it's a great product. It's never caused me to become an oil slick or breakout, it goes on smoothly and absorbs quickly, and it is gentle on your skin.
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jen
September 8, 2010

Pros:

High SPF

Cons:

Greasy
Heavy
Smells Bad
Expensive

I tried this for one day and it was all I could do to keep it on my face, I couldn't wait to wash it off. Never have I tried a product that has made my face look so greasy and gross feeling! Not to mention It has caused a nice rash to appear on the right side of my face, TERRIBLE! can't wait to return this awful product.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 3, 2010

Pros:

-high SPF
-small bottle (easy to carry around for travel)
-great for the beach

Cons:

-oily...very oily
-thick consistency
-leaves a white residue on face
-made me break out

The moisturizer is really thick and oily. I think it made me break out because of how thick and oily it is (clogged my pores). It says that it's non-comedogenic but it still clogged my pores. After about 2 weeks of using it, I had quite a few blackheads on my forehead and chin. This moisturizer is probably good if you're going to be at the beach or if you're going on vacation and will be out in the sun a lot. I don't recommend it for daily use though. I used it daily for about a month, and I'm going to switch back to my normal moisturizer.
Anonymous
April 5, 2010

Pros:

No sun damage.

Cons:

Made me breakout, oiliness, feel of it.

I switched temporarily from Neutrogena to try this. I love the face wash, which I've used since I was 12 (am now 29). I really didn't like the SPF moisturizer. It made me break out in tiny zits, I felt oily, I didn't like the smell or the feel of it on my skin.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 4, 2010

Pros:

-Great brand
-No scent
-High SPF
-Thick, sunscreen-like (yet non-greasy) consistency

Cons:

-Burns my sensitive skin

Though I listed five pros and only one con, that one con outweighs them all. The Cetaphil brand has saved my fair, dry, sensitive skin. I use their gentle cleanser, and the spf 15 moisturizer for day as well as the regular moisturizer for night. It's getting into the spring and summer months, so my fair skin (I'm a redhead) needs a higher spf than 15 for the season ahead. I love my spf 15 moisturizer and other Cetaphil products so much, I knew I had to try this. What a disappointment! My sensitive skin has been nurtured by all their other products, but this one really stings my skin! Five minutes after application I could no longer stand it, and I re-cleansed my face and slathered it with their regular moisturzer, and it still took a while for my skin to calm down. I'm really surprised that the Cetaphil brand would make a product like this. It reminds me of that quote, "The food here is terrible. And what small portions!" It's a bad product, it's more expensive than other Cetaphil products, and it comes in a tiny container! Very disappointing for sure! I guess I have to go to the Neutrogena Sensitive Skin Healthy Defense Moisturizer. It comes in the same SPF but doesn't sting at all. Kind of annoying, because I'm big on brand loyalty. Why, Cetaphil? WHY?!?!?!
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
January 31, 2010

Pros:

SPF 50, price

Cons:

Thick and greasy

I have sensitive skin and I got a rash all over my face from using this product. I purchased Cetaphil because I thought the brand was gentle on the skin.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
gorillajack
January 10, 2010

Pros:

this has great protection, has titanium dioxide as well as oxybenzone and really protects the skin even on incredibly harsh sunlight

Cons:

thick, feels more like sunscreen than moisturizer, and isn't as useful for daily use, is a bit greasy.

hard to use daily, but great for going to the beach. however, i don't know how others might react to its formula, but i had no problems. it's a good powerful sunscreen that's gentle and moisturizing.
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report