Lush : Coalface Cleanser

Brand:
Reviews
3.5
19 Reviews

Liquorice Root Decoction (Glycyrrhiza glabra) , Propylene Glycol , Sodium Stearate, Rosewood Oil (Aniba rosaeordora) , Sodium Lauryl Sulfate , Powdered Charcoal , Sandalwood Oil (Santalum album) , Glycerine , Sodium Chloride , EDTA , Tetrasodium Etidronate , Linalool , Perfume, Silver Edible Lustre (Potassium aluminum silicate, Titanium dioxide, Iron oxides and hydroxides).

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
21.1%
4
36.8%
3
15.8%
2
26.3%
1
0%

Used Lush : Coalface Cleanser? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
October 19, 2017
good cleanser but not strong enough for big breakouts
When my acne was worse I used to use this in the morning and then use my stronger cleanser with salicylic acid in at night to really treat my breakouts as I found that this wasn't enough on its own. Now however as my acne has cleared up mostly I'm happy to use this day and night as my only cleanser, It works well and leaves my skins feeling clean and doesn't dry me out. If you have mild to moderate acne i'd give this a go but if you get really severe breakouts you might need something a bit stronger.
June 21, 2016
Great but probably not for severe acne
My acne is pretty particular... I occasionally have hormonal cystic acne on the cheeks and chin but most of the time, my acne is purely comedone acne from excess sebum production. So exfoliating products like this one, which are also gentle and not full of a lot of physical or chemical exfoliants, are for me. I like using this every day. For my skin, which is fairly sensitive but not prone to aggressive acne, this works really wonderfully. It's gentle but still a bit exfoliating and calming. Although LUSH really sells this as a charcoal product, it's actually a LICORICE root ("liquorice" in the UK and Canada, btw) product, which is why you should be interesting: the Acne.Org regime pushes a licorice root biproduct (licochalcone) hard because it's a gentle, natural anti-inflammatory. But licorice hasn't yet become a popular trendy ingredient so it's hard to find. This is actually the first ingredient, above water itself, and waaaaaaay about anything related to coal, in the Coalface product. So when I use this, I occasionally use it as a mask and leave it on my skin for a few minute before washing it off. It's not a miracle worker, but I always find that my skin behaves a lot better when I'm washing with this versus any other face wash.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 14, 2015
DO NOT USE IF YOU HAVE SENSITIVE SKIN
I've been using this product for over 2 months and to my dismay, it has made my skin the worst it has ever been. Because I have sensitive skin, this product made me have red bumps all over my face and aggravated breakouts. The reason I'm giving it 2 stars is because at least it has decent oil control.
July 21, 2015
CLEARED MY SKIN
This is my first review and i felt that I just HAD to write this! Ive been suffering with acne for a good 3 years and this has completely changed my skin. I had HORRIBLE acne on my cheeks and chin and this has beeen the only thing to clear it. My face is completely clear and my pores are basicly invisible. Finally and can walk around without makeoup
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 17, 2015
Pretty Good ðŸ'ðŸ¼
For a high school student, oily skin is part of my appearance. I recently went to lush with some friends and I noticed coalface and relized that I wouldn't be spending over 10 dollars without knowing if I liked it or not. So with the sample they gave me, I broke of a small bit and worked it into a lather as the directions said. My face felt tight and clear as some thought of it as a bad thing. I interpret it as a good thing because I use it before bed. Minutes after washing off, I walked into my sister's room and she quickly noted that my face looked clean and not oily as it usually does. One of the best qualities is that you don't need a lot, my sample will last me a month (I assume), but for a long term full size it could last you 6 months+. If there was a coalface mask, that worked more on reducing acne, I wouldn't use anything else.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 8, 2016
There is, it's called Dark Angels, you can get it from LUSH too! :)
February 2, 2015
Too irritating
I have severely oily skin, and I bought this thinking that it would become my holy grail cleanser.. Well, that wasn't the case. First off, after using it my face feels soo tight and irritated (I'd heard a lot of people didn't like it for that reason). Secondly, this did NOTHING for my oily skin. No improvements whatsoever, even after using it every night for almost 2 months. Lastly, and I can't be completely sure it was this product, but I think this may be what gave me the same impacted pores that someone on a previous review mentioned. So, yeah, I'm kind of done with this soap. For added measure, it doesn't smell all that great.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
June 4, 2010

Pros:

Cleanses well; organic; lasts a long time; lathers well; bar is easy to use; reduces oil without overdrying

Cons:

Stings eyes like hand soap would; feels too "squeaky clean"; leaves actual scratch marks on skin; difficult to find Lush stores; doesn't help acne.

This was easy to use, since you can just rub the bar directly onto the skin or lather in your hands. I learned quickly to do the latter, since the scratchy pieces of coal it contains to help exfoliate actually left red marks on my sensitive skin (never a good sign). If I got it around or in my eyes, they burned and felt as if I had gotten regular body or hand soap in them. This isn't gentle stuff. It does absorb oil well, though; no improvement in acne seen :(
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Julie
March 14, 2010

Pros:

squeaky clean
keeps skin matte
keeps skin smooth
10 dollars worth of coalface last about 4 months

Cons:

can be drying
bad smell
price

this by far is my favorite cleanser. it has a mild exfoliant. keeps super oily skin balanced and matte looking. i wouldn't recommend this if you have combination skin strictly for oily people like myself. its also great for body acne. i use in the shower with a loofa.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 25, 2010

Pros:

-Makes my face feel super clean
-Clears up red marks
-Dries up existing acne

Cons:

-Gave me 'impacted pores'
-Messy

I heard great things about this product from a fried,and decided to try it out for myself. Initially,I liked the rich lather and how clean it made my face feel.I also noticed almost an instant imporvement in any red marks and scarring.Some people have said they don't like the licorice smell,but I acctually kind of enjoied it.I also liked that it had super fine exfoliating properties from the charcoal,which really brighted up my complexion. However,a week after using it I started to notice little white bumps all around my chin area..and suprisinly no where else.After doing some research,I found out these are little pimples called 'impacted pores' which are very stuborn to remove and really bad to pick at.I tried steam treatments in an effort to open up the pores enough to remove them,but after 3 weeks of that going nowhere,I gave it up. I really wanted to like this product,because its the best thing I've found that cleans well and helps with my red marks.But because of the small,stubborn breakouts,I probably woulnd't recomend it.
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
May 5, 2009

Pros:

Gives you that clean feeling, exfoliates your skin, smells like Red Vines (can be a con if you don't like that smell), controls oil production

Cons:

makes your skin feel tight (dry feeling), but when you use a god moisterizer it goes away.

I just began using Coalface and I saw a lot of improvement in my face. I have severe acne on my cheeks and have an oily Tzone, but ever since I started using this, I have a less oily face. Even though it's a bit pricey, it's still worth it.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report