St. Ives : Blemish Control Green Tea Gel Cleanser

Brand:
Reviews
3.1
32 Reviews

Active Ingredient: Salicylic acid (2%). Inactive Ingredients: Water (Aqua, Eau), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Propylene Glycol, Salicylic Acid, Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Fragrance (Parfum), Sodium Hydroxide, Menthyl Lactate, Peg-150 Distearate, Disodium Edta, Phenethyl Alcohol, Limonene, Ppg-2 Methyl Ether, Linalool, Epilobium Angustifolium Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Ascorphyllum Nodosum Extract, Alteromonas Ferment Extract, Methylisothiazolinone, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Yeast Extract (Faex, Extrait De Levure), Green 5 (Ci 61570), Yellow 5 (Ci 19140), Red 4 (Ci 14700), Red 33 (Ci 17200), Blue 1 (Ci 42090).

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
18.8%
4
25%
3
25%
2
12.5%
1
18.8%

Used St. Ives : Blemish Control Green Tea Gel Cleanser? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
February 5, 2016
St. Ives Blemish Control Green Tea Gel Cleanser: As Good As it Gets for an OTC Product
I have had issues with hormone-driven acne for many years. St. Ives Blemish Control Green Tea Gel Cleanser applied at night followed by Clean & Clear Continuous Control Benzoyl Peroxide wash in the morning kept me clear 90 percent of the time until early last year when I began experiencing "breakthrough" cystic acne. When my OTC methods began to fail, I consulted a dermatologist for the problem for the first time since my 20s, when I went on Accutane and largely eliminated the problem until I hit my 40s. The dermatologist placed me on Differen gel to no apparent benefit whatsoever. When that didn't work, she proposed a stronger dose of Differen and added a daily, prolonged regimen of antibiotics. All the while, she told me not to use Salicylic acid products so I switched over to a non-medicated facial cleaner. I began breaking out worse after I began to use a "gentle" cleaner and it didn't quit. Nonetheless, I was unable to tolerate a stronger dose of Differen and the antibiotics were leaving me with other "problems" that women can get from antibiotic overuse. This product was the intermediate solution for me between too-strong Differen and too-weak Differen. As luck would have it, I stocked up on a bunch of these blemish control green tea facial cleaners prior to use of the Differen and so in lieu of embarking on the antibiotic over-use route I added this cleanser back in to my thus-far ineffectual Differen routine. Between the re-introduction of this OTC cleanser and the Rx, I have acne control without antibiotic over-reliance. Unfortunately, my stash of St. Ives Blemish Control Green Tea Gel Cleanser is about to run out and I know of no other comparable product to stand in for the fact that THE MANUFACTURER HAS DISCONTINUED THIS FACIAL CLEANER :-(. I do believe the synergistic aspects of this formula, which includes green tea, olive extracts and Salcylic acid, will be difficult to duplicate. If anybody knows of a substitute for this facial cleaner, I'd like to hear about it. With the sole exception of Clean & Clear's Continuous Control facial wash, I've never had such good success with an OTC blemish-control product. It's too bad St. Ives didn't consider running a proper advertising campaign before they discontinued it. Without this product, I will be left with antibiotic use and the unpleasant side effects of being on too much Doxycycline for too long.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 4, 2016
Where are you located? The product you are talking about is currently available in Vancouver BC, Canada.
September 16, 2016
Have you found another cleanser that works like these? I live in Costa Rica and they discontinued the selling of this product, my acne is coming back. If you find something please write to me to [email protected][link removed]
April 14, 2018
I really hope you all consider doing all organic products for your face. Visiting Etsy and supporting great organic, handmade manufacturers. The products include all ingredients that you can pronounce and see clearly. And many manufacturers have reviews to vouch for the products' results. Also, know your skin type. Knowing your skin type gives you more options. I LOVE this face wash too but there are better things.
April 14, 2018
I love Alba Botanica as well! They have a pineapple gel facial cleanser/line and a coconut milk collection. I LOVE milk cleansers. They also have a seaweed collection which was AMAZING. The moisturizer leaves you GLOWING.
December 3, 2015
Great
Should not use it during winter seasons because it dries out the skin. When weather is hot though, My skin becomes oilier. Nevertheless, It helps my skin redness and small red bumps. I tried using it as medication for huge inflammations/cysts by putting it with a q-tip and leave it for a while after steaming a face and it works quite well
September 18, 2015
The best by far
This cleanser is my favourite it works perfectly on my skin and has controlled my pimples perfectly. I have been using it just over a year and i won't be changing!
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 27, 2014
Green but not Great
Not a fantastic product. Does nothing for inflamed acne at all. Didint really see any improvements after a 2 month use. Discontinued for something else. It does, however, smell nice, and the green tea element is good, however green tea by its self is a much better option :)
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 5, 2016
Acne begins to form deep below the skin's surface as much as three months before it erupts. You need to give any product at least 4 months to judge the results.
September 9, 2013
Not so soothing

Pros:

Refreshing feeling

Cons:

Weird smells
Broke me out
Skin oily less than 30 mins

No doubt its refreshing after washing my face with this unfortunately this didnt help my acne problem, my face oiled up after less than 30mins
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 22, 2013
Good cleanser

Pros:

Smells awesome
clears pimples very well
cleans away dirt and makeup easily

Cons:

does not clear black heads
doesn't affect pore size around nose
allergic to the tea part...

My mom bought a Saint Ives care package for me in my first year of university, and the green tea cleanser was in the package. I was a little skeptic about trying it out - I'm allergic to green tea! - but I found that with daily use, I broke out less and less. It does absolutely NOTHING for my blackheads however, and I find that my face gets really warm and red after I use it, but it may just be my skin reacting to the tea.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 12, 2013

Pros:

- Foams easily
- Non-comedogenic
- Glycerin is 3rd ingredient on list, which is great news
- Smells amazing to me, but I'm not sensitive to perfumes

Cons:

- Second ingredient is Sodium Laureth Sulfate. If you're following the regimen (like I am), this isn't great news. I found that it never bothered me.

I was in a different city visiting family, and the only facial cleanser at their house was this one. I decided to give it a quick try and loved the results. I'm about to try it again with the regimen this time around.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
July 20, 2012

Pros:

worked first two days . skin was soo soft

Cons:

then stared to burn my face , i fricking hate it , i started to peel . and its been a week and my face is still irritated and stings

DO NOT BUY . it f**ks ur face UP
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Brianna
May 30, 2012

Pros:

smells nice
good packaging
lathers pretty well

Cons:

made these weird bumps on my forehead
made me break out like i never had before
harsh

See, I had used St.Ives products before and loved them. So the other day at Target I had to get some more and they were out so i got the green tea cleanser (which I had never used). The next day i woke up, and had these weird bumps that were weird on my face and more pimples, My face was also turned slightly red! The bottle said it was supposed to clear redness and my face was never red then turned red! I am never EVER buying this product again!!!!!!!!!
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 2, 2012

Pros:

It's cheap
Smells nice
lathers up

Cons:

It didn't clear up my acne
Made my face oilyer
Caused my face to be a bit worse
had to keep using it

It wasn't the best product for me. It worked for a while than i started to get more small bumps. Then when i didn't use it for one night i grew like 5 bumps.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report