St. Ives : Blemish & Blackhead Control Apricot Face Wash

Brand:
Reviews
3.4
17 Reviews

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid (2%). Inactive Ingredients: Water, Juglans Regia (Walnut) Shell Powder, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Zea Mays (Corn) Kernel Meal, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Triethanolamine, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Fruit Extract, Cetyl, Acetate, Carbomer, Polysorbate 60, Ceteareth-20, Acetylated Lanolin Alcohol, PPG-2 Methyl Ether, Phenethyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Methylisothiazolinone, Fragrance, Titanium Dioxide.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
47.1%
4
5.9%
3
5.9%
2
23.5%
1
17.6%

Used St. Ives : Blemish & Blackhead Control Apricot Face Wash? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
Shelly
January 20, 2013

Pros:

- Smells nice
- Contains exfoliating beads
- Non-comodogenic
- Contains Apricot extract

Cons:

- Too drying
- Makes breakouts worse
- Expensive
- Not gentle

First off , I'm a teenager with normal acne-prone skin. I tried this cleanser a while back thinking that it would clear my breakouts.Boy was I wrong! This cleanser was too harsh and caused my forehead to get these many tiny ,red ,inflamed zits. It was so bad that I had to stop using it.Although I do like the gel/grainy texture, smell and beads , this was a terrible product and I won't be repurchasing. I'm still recovering from those annoying zits 4 days later. :(
Melany
August 13, 2011

Pros:

It is not expensive
it has a nice smooth feel

Cons:

it broke me out more ,.,where i never had acne before
this scrub flared my pimples into cystic acne !!

i use to use this when i wasn"t acne prone,.,.and worked great because i never really broke out ,.,sometimes had a little pimple or two but when i hit puberty it was a whole different story i started to get oilier skin and was getting more pimples well i thought the st. Ives scrub was going to work because it use to work for me well it just made my acne worst made my pimples flare up and i started to break out around my mouth .,,.i don"t recommend it to people that don"t want their acne to go worse ,.I've researched that scrubs caused microscopic cuts and abrasions in the skin,and get it infected which means more bacteria and that means more acne =( i recommend to use more natural stuff like putting raw potato paste on skin .,.,potato contains potassium ,.,and potassium kills the bad bacteria on skin ,.,and it did wonders to my skin .,.,i"m also drinking green tea.,.green tea gets rid of toxins ,.,less toxins more clear skin ,.,now i don"t break out bad i get a pimple or two but NO more cystic acne !!
NAt360
February 18, 2011

Pros:

Does what it says:
~ Deep Cleans
~ Keeps black heads and acne at bay
~ Ex foliates dead skin
~ Inexpensive (paid $3,99)

Cons:

~ Does not remove make up
~ May cause break outs in sensitive skin
~ May take a week to see real results
~ May dry you out if used more the 1x daily and if you live in cooler climates like me :)

This is a great cleanser if used gently (ease up on scrubbing the crap out of your face)and 1x Daily. I use before bed if I haven't used makeup followed with no moisturizer (my preference)or in the morning with an oil free spf 30 oil free sunscreen for face. Should absolutely be used with an oil free moisturizer anything else is to emollient, your basically putting back the excess oil you took off. Will not work the instant you use takes a few days to see results. Sensitives be wary might or might not break you out but then again most things probably do already right? .At first I was skeptical using took me a few days to see what I wanted come through happy I stuck with it.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Preeti
July 15, 2009

Pros:

It works! It makes your skin feel smooth, and gets rid of breakouts and oil. They got new packaging too!

Cons:

None.

Good :)
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jenny
June 19, 2009

Pros:

At first i scrubbed it on my face & it was smooth. I thought it would heal my acne but when i woke up the next morning my face was EXTREMELY dry, rough, & breakouts everywhere. It made my face horrible.

Cons:

Smells nice

If you have extremely sensitive skin DON'T use this. You'll regret it i did.
Samantha
May 14, 2009

Pros:

I loved it, the smell was fresh, nice bottle, it had scrubbing beads that worked wonders for my skin. Within a day my skin was clear. I'm 16 and my skin has not been agreeing with me, but this stuff tamed my skin. My skins no longer oily & now clear.

Cons:

No cons. I loved it.

P.S - If you have oily skin it works best.
anonymous
March 5, 2009

Pros:

nice smell; works wonders; gentle exfoliation; AMAZING PRODUCT!

Cons:

discontinued:(

when i was using this product (about 2 years), my skin was PERFECT! i always got compliments on it and it was always so nice. if i would ever go off of it, to try something else or something, i would break out all over my cheeks so i would always come back to it! this is in my opinion the best product i have EVER used and would recommend it instantly!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Cynthia
February 13, 2009

Pros:

No animal Testing

Cons:

Made me break out, made my face rough and itchy, horrible product.

Please don't buy this. Before this I had smooth skin, even though there was acne on it. This product made my face rough and itchy. I have discarded this product forever and ever. I like their body wash though, but that's a different story. Don't buy this!!
Madusanka
November 21, 2008

Cons:

I decided to hate St.Ives forever

Horrible.Dont use it if you have sensitive skin.It made my skin breakout so badly.Actually I wonder how these people say anything like this about this horrible product.
Anonymous
November 15, 2008

Pros:

the smell, the feel, the little beads, i love this stuff.

Cons:

it dries out my skin in the cold weather and if i use it more than once a day

this is a great face wash. it does dry me out in the winter a bit but i have combo skin, so most stuff does. i use this at the sink and the st. ives medicated face scrub in the shower... basicly the same stuff only a bit scrubbier ;). i love every one of this companies products that i have tried.