SkinCeuticals : Blemish + Age Defense

Brand:
Reviews
3.4
24 Reviews

Salicylic Acid 1.5%. Alcohol Denat., Water, Methylpropanediol, Glycolic Acid, Diisopropyl Adipate, Octadeceneioic Acid, Hydroxyethylpiperazine Thane Sulfonic Acid, Citric Acid, Capryloyl Alcicylic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Polyquaternium-10.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
41.7%
4
12.5%
3
12.5%
2
8.3%
1
25%

Used SkinCeuticals : Blemish + Age Defense? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 12, 2018
Ruined my face
I was given this product, along with the Retexturing Activator, by my dermatologist, for my acne. I had moderate acne with inflammation on my cheeks and jawline. I kept taking photos of my face for 3 months to see the difference, and it kept getting worse. At first, I thought it was the purging phase so I was patient. But the acne got worse, I had inflammed red spots everywhere. Even when my face was full of acne (I've never in my entire life experienced such breakouts, by number and the inflammation wasn't getting any better), I continued using it because of all the good reviews I read online and because my derm said she wanted to see me after 3 months, so I decided to give it the time it needed to work. Except that it didn't. It ruined my face completely. I stopped it after 3 months of using it religiously, and when I went back to my previous routine, my face calmed down, but I'm left with scars and red spots everywhere on my cheeks. Bottom line, it is the worst product I have ever used for my acne. Horrible experience. Couldn't even go out of the house without foundation, and couldn't look at myself in the mirror. That's how much it was horrible. Let me just say that the very tiny places on my face where I didn't have acne (forehead and chin), the texture of my skin got better, so maybe it's a good product for people who don't have acne, but I don't know why on earth would they recommend it for people having acne.
July 30, 2017
broke me out
I bought the complete set with the cleanser and toner along with this blemish lotion. After the first application, it broke me out completely.I got acne on my jawline and forehead.As soon as I stopped using it, the acne seemed to settle and I have not got any bumps on my skin since. I continue to use the cleanser sonce its good, but this lotion is way too strong for skin. When i tried to write this review on their website, they said it cannot be published since it does not meet their guidelines. In short, they only publish reviews that are rated 4 stars or higher. Complete waste of money.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 1, 2017
Hopefully you bought the products from skin ceuticals, as they have a 90 day return policy..... so not really a waste of money then. Also, many people try to buy these products off eBay or Amazon and they are not authentic products so will not work because they are fake. Skin ceuticals lists authorized sellers on their website and most offer a refund. wishing you the best in finding a regimen that works for you!
August 24, 2016
definitely improved what BP could not.
I am 25 years old and my biggest issue is oily skin, large clogged pores and closed comedones. they lend my skin a very bumpy uneven texture and it feels pretty gross when I wash my face. occasionally I get inflammatory pimples, but usually it's when I mess with one of the little bumps. I have had stubborn bumps on my forehead for years even though I use benzoyl peroxide on them twice daily. recently, I got a facial which included extractions and she recommended I try this product to help with congestion. it's expensive so I was skeptical, but go big or go home, right? also, it has alcohol in it which I thought was a big no but I honestly could care less so long as it works. I have been using this morning and night for about a week and a half and my forhead looks clearer than it has since I can remember. it doesn't dry me out, in fact I think it's moisturizing compared to the BP I was slathering on every day. it hasnt burned upon application and doesnt seem to be causing irritation, although my forehead skin is much less sensitive than other parts of my face. the skin looks healthier overall and my bumps either have come to a head(tiny, insignificant uninformed ones) and healed up or just gone away. I did use this on my entire t zone for the first 7 days and while it cleared some stubborn stuff out of the sides of my nose and under my eyes, it made my skin shiny. crazy shiny. like necessary to wash my face a third time in the middle of the day and blot every couple of hours shiny. so, I am currently just applying this to my forhead so I can see if my skin will adjust or if that's just what this product will do on my skin. my sister (who has extremely mild acne, just an occasional tiny pimple) uses this after a gentle unmedicated cleanser as a spot treatment and swears by it. four stars only because of the price.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 3, 2014
The best product ever! Miracle
Omg!! Words cannot describe how amazing this product is. I've been on accutane 5 times, and this surpasses accutane 10 fold. I was recommended this by an esthetician after a microdermabrasion, she gave me a sample and when I finished the vile I ran out an bought it. It's very expensive, but so worth it.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 1, 2013
Doesn't work

Cons:

expensive
doesn't work well

I don't notice a difference, I often wonder if it even has all the ingredients listed, because other products with similar ingredients work.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Rachel
February 28, 2013

Pros:

This stuff works!! I have been using it morning and night and the improvement in my skin is amazing. This stuff kills the bacteria and stops the spread across your face. Use with the cleanser and toner and you will not look back

Cons:

Can dry your skin out a little and stings a little on application

I had severe acne, and this stuff helped clear up my skin. it has stopped the spread of acne on my face. i can face the world again. It does dry your skin out a little but it is totally worth it. Make sure you have a good water based moisturiser
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
rebecca
January 27, 2013

Pros:

none

Cons:

made me break out even more. spent almost $200 on the cleanser, toner and serum and i stopped using them. waste of money!

save your money.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 28, 2012

Pros:

The only thing that works for my adult and cystic acne!
Works instantly
No need to pick spots as new ones fade fast

Cons:

expensive but lasts
can cause acne acars if you pick, but there will be less picking to do! You can also mix with bio oil or sunscreen
Must wear sunscreen with this!!

I have adult and cystic acne after the pill and year of antibiotics to try and rid me of them. Nothing else worked long term until this. I thought it would stop working but a year later and Im clear. I get the odd spot which fades fast now. I apply this only in the morning then apply a sunscreen. On its own its really potent and can sting alittle. You can mix it with one drop of bio oil to dilute it too and it wont break you out. You skin may become sensitive to scraing so dont pick, cysts and whiteheads will fade so fast with this, just leave them, trust me. You have to try this I was suicidal before finding this
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
July 12, 2012

Pros:

clears skin completely
reduces appearance of hyper pigmentation
helps with fine lines and aging
no initial breakout
improves texture of skin

Cons:

price

This is the first stuff I have used that actually worked, and I've tried just about everything under the sun from prescription grade medications and topicals, to Dan's regimen, to natural alternatives and Vitamin supplements. So worth the price tag, don't be fooled this isn't your ordinary Salicyclic Acid gel, it contains the perfect blend of acids to exfoliate the skin and increase cell turnover. It contains 2% Dioic Acid, 0.3% LHA, 1.5% Salicylic Acid, 3.5% Glycolic Acid, and 0.5% Citric Acid. Sounds like an awful lot but it never once irritated my sensitive skin and if you follow with a light moisturizer you won't even experience flakes and dryness (unlike Retin-A and Dan's BP). How I use: Wash face with a gentle cleanser (I use Yes to Carrots Daily Cleanser), apply 3-4 drops of SC Blemish + Age Defense, wait 30 min, then apply light moisturizer (I use CeraVe). I do this morning and night every day and I haven't had skin this clear since before I started getting acne. Whats great is this product not only treats and prevents acne, but it also helps get rid of the marks that acne leads behind. I can't comment on the anti-aging aspect as I'm only 20 and don't have fine lines yet. But seriously give this a try and wait a couple weeks before you give up because it may not seem like anything is happening but before you know it you will keep waking up without any breakouts on a consistent basis.
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 23, 2017
Hey! Ive been using this for about a week now, do you remember going through a purging period when you first started using this?
lola
February 21, 2012

Pros:

Dries up oil, lightens acne scars

Cons:

Expensive

Love this product. I have had cyctic acne since teen years, and am now 33. I have been limited with what my dermatologist could do because we are either pregnant or trying to get pregnant for the last couple of years. I did Proactiv for awhile, but it did not work consistently. I also did 4 smoothbeam treatments, which worked great, but results only lasted 1 year. Cost there was $400. So now my derm recommended Blemish & AGe Defense. I noticed results over night. My cystic acne seemed to be shrinking. My skin was not oily or inflamed (red). A few days later, my acne scars are lightening. My current acne is still healing, but no new pimples. I am completely amazed. The product is expensive (about $78 + shipping on skinceuticals web site), but my derm said 1 bottle should last about 6 months. So the cost over 6 months is not so bad for me, and way cheaper than smoothbeam. Last comment: I have extremely sensitive skin. I have eczema/seborratic dermatitis around my nose, which means drying acne products may work on my acne, but flair my eczema. This product gives me no flairs. It is worth trying, My derm gave me a free sample bottle, which I am still using, and it's been almost a week.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report