Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Numbernine

Non -comedogenic make-up for men!

Hi i'm finding a non -comedogenic makeup for men. Something to cover up acne scars that are red and blend in well with the skin. Must i combine foundation and concealer to obtain the best results or just concealer will do the trick? I'm a NOOB at make up and this will be my first try out. Guys n gals out thr please give help me out here. PEACE. :cool:

Avoid makeups that are creamy or thick in appearance, since these usually contain waxy, pore-clogging ingredients. The makeup does not have to say "non-comedogenic" since that and similar terms have no regulations.

Some people find that broad spectrum sunscreen agents such as titanium dioxide and zinc oxide can clog pores, so in that case look for a foundation that contains avobenzone, the only other UVA protecting sunscreen ingredient found in the US (outside of the US there are others such as Mexoryl SX).

It is also a good idea to wear an SPF 15 or higher sunscreen with avobenzone or another above mentioned ingredient under a foundation that has broad spectrum sunscreen, and a must if your foundation does not have a broad spectrum sunscreen. If you opt for only wearing a foundation with a sunscreen rather than a sunscreen underneath your makeup, make sure it has an SPF 15 or higher and is applied liberally.

It is also reccommended to wear an SPF 15 or higher powder over your foundation for sunscreen touchups and to ensure you get enough sunscreen from your foundation (Remember an SPF 15 + an SPF 15 does not equal an SPF 30, rather, somewhere inbetween the two numbers). It would be very difficult to get enough sunscreen protection from an SPF 15 or higher powder by itself since usually not enough is applied.