Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
mameha

Accutane recommendation - is my derm nuts?

This is how my skin currently is:

100% clear except for a few red spots from previous acne and one large cyst by my nose.

My dermatologist took one look at that and said, "You should try accutane, it'll work wonders!!"

This was after I told him that I'm very prone to depression. His response was, "Oh pfft, those reports about suicidal Accutane users, those are really misleading because most people on Accutane are young and more susceptible to suicidal thoughts."

I've had four cysts in my entire life (only brought on by stress) and otherwise super mild acne.

So all I can think about my dermatologist is: O_O

Yes I agree. I don't think you need the medication at all and the risks of depression are not worth it in your situation. I'm not a doctor but I would not take it if I were you.

It sounds like you already know the answer. If you're looking for reassurance....you have it.

There are REAL side effects with Accutane that should not be ignored. It doesn't sound like your dermatologist "cares" a lot about you as a patient; I'd find a new derm.

Question: If your acne is so mild, why do you have a dermatologist?

My acne goes from mild to severe when I'm stressed out. I've gone in to have a couple of cysts injected.

There are REAL side effects with Accutane that should not be ignored. It doesn't sound like your dermatologist "cares" a lot about you as a patient; I'd find a new derm.

Yeah the derm I normally see was out having knee surgery. She would actually sit down and advise me about skin care and ask me further questions to help me. This guy had his head up in the clouds.

Yes I agree. I don't think you need the medication at all and the risks of depression are not worth it in your situation. I'm not a doctor but I would not take it if I were you.

I'm glad it's worked great for some people but the side effects just aren't worth it for me.