Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
nataliep

I have performed TCA on almost 10 people

First, I'm not a professional but just a curious person who has scars myself and like to make other people's skins better. I have performed TCA crosses and regular TCA peels on different people using different strengths here are some interesting things that I have learned.

TCA Peel

1. If you apply two layers the results are always better than one.

2. If the skin does shred, then this is a good sign that the dark spots, blemishes, redness, etc will lighten considerably. If it doesn't there may be little or no improvements.

3. Higher strengths can burn your skin, the best percentage for me and my "patients" is around 25%.

4. Since the TCA is pretty mild at 25% do not be shy to go agressive on the skin as this will guarantee the shredding of the skin (for the entire face around three dips into the TCA should do)

5. Be careful around the eyes.

6. During the first 2 weeks or less the face will be darker after that the shredding then follow with clearer white skin. If the shredding doesn't happen there could be little improvement.

TCA Cross

1. Higher percentage is good- the strongest I have tried is 80%. If it doesn't frost there might be 0 to 15 percent improvement.

2. If it's a box car scar, be careful not to put too much because the discoloration could take a long time to heal. Generally one application should be enough to creat the frosting effect.

3. Generally the effects are pretty much random- ranging from no improvement to great improvement.

Please add your own findings.

nataliep, thanks so much for posting this info. im thinking about doing TCA so these results are interesting. i was wondering after a 25% TCA peel what exactly does your face look like and how long? is it all crusted over? im just wondering bc ill have to take off work.

thanks

kapone