Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I've had acne since middle school, and I'm now a college sophomore. Needless to say, it's been a nuisance. I've been on Accutane twice, both times during high school; each was very helpful, but some degree of acne came back. For the last year I've had mild acne, kept that way with minocycline (which seems to be effective for me, but I'd certainly prefer not to use it in the long term due to the risk of side effects), Differin (I tried Tazorac, but it was too harsh for my skin), and various other products I've tried. (I was also on topical clindamycin for a while, which was somewhat effective but produced a lot of redness.) I've also had a few acid peels done, which seem mildly helpful for acne and good for reducing acne scars. Fortunately, money isn't much of a concern for me, so I've been seeing two dermatologists (one at home and one at college) and trying some expensive products (such as Kinerase, which is an excellent moisturizer that seems to have reduced some minor indentations I had on my face, but had no discernable impact on acne).

A month ago, I was home for winter break (which is a month long for my college), and I decided to pick up "The Acne Prescription" (the book) by Dr. Perricone. I'm highly skeptical of many aspects of him; for one thing, if his products are so miraculous, then why have no credible independent studies been done with them? And why does he go to such great lengths to criticize the mainstream dermatological community? Also, his focus is definitely on women in their 40's and beyond with both wrinkles and acne, whereas I'm a 19-year-old male. Nonetheless, I decided to try the whole package for a while, as an experiment. Thankfully, one of the sites that sells his products, Sephora.com, does free shipping and has a generous 30-day return policy, so at least I could return any products that turned out to be completely awful.