Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Briana Jones

Should I Increase My Tretinoin Cream Strength To 0.1%?

Hi, this is my first time posting on acne.org! I get clusters of whiteheads and pimples on my chin a lot! I also get a lot of clogged pores/whiteheads on my forehead whereas the rest of my face (nose and cheeks) are almost flawless. I was prescribed tretinoin cream 0.05% in May of 2010 and stayed on that for about a year. I slathered it on at first, not knowing that I only needed a pea sized amount to get the job done. I peeled and had red skin for awhile, but after about 3 months my skin cleared up beautifully! I continued to use the cream and my skin stayed fairly clear up until about the beginning of my second semester in college, or January 2011. I was starting to get more breakouts again around my problem areas and stopped using the tretinoin cream because i thought it stopped working. After being off of it for awhile, I broke out really bad late summer around July. I tried the ACV treatment, organic raw skin cleaners, even something called Ozonated olive oil, I mean EVERYTHING! It was horrible! My chin was disgusting and my forehead was FULL of small little whiteheads everywhere. I cried because someone had pointed out how horrible my skin looked at a football game on campus. It was dreadful. I started on the 0.05% cream again and my skin cleared up slowly but surely, but never got completely clear like it did that first time I used it. I would still break out and never had the nice skin I wanted again. I couldn't afford more of the cream, so my breakouts started once again about a month ago. I had read online that tretinoin cream might not be as good as the gel for acne-prone individuals because it's more likely to clog pores so I decided to switch to the 0.05% gel. I have been on this gel nightly for a good 3 weeks now and my breakouts are getting bad again. I have a LOT of little clogged pores all over the right/left sides