Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
amnesiac

Talked with Dr.Y

Well i received a call from Dr.Y a few days ago, he had been trying to reach me for a while and finally got me home.

Well i'll try and post all the things i asked and what he said, first of all the man is a great person, before we even started talking about dermabrasion we were talking about music since i said on my letter i was a musician, also he is very southern it seems, because of his accent.

Well first of all, he reccomended i do a full face, to wich i agreed since i recently discovered some scarring on my forehead, he also recommended it since i am what he considers medium skin tone.

I was mostly interested in asking about the risks, since we all know dermabrasion is tough to be a very risky procedure but honestly i know it depends on the person doing the procedure and care taking. Here is what i asked:

1)What do you think about dermabrasion being invasive?

"Invasive means going inside, we are only removing the top layers of the skin in a careful and precise way"

2)Do you think dermabrasion should be the last resort? For only severe scars?

"I believedermabrasion should be the norm for treating acne scars, i've done this procedure thousands of times and it is the best way to achieve results"

3)What are the real risks of dermabrasion?

The only real risks are infection and hypopigmentation, there is always a case every 4-5 years of permanent pigmentation problems. Infection can occur if proper care is not taken. Darker patches of skin can be treated with creams, now the lighter patches we don't know how to treat.

4)How would i get lighter patches of skin?

If you expose your skin to the sun too much 3 months after dermabrasion this may happen

5)Can something go wrong?

I am not god in heaven and things can go wrong.

6) Have you done my skin tone before?