Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
AkitaGirl

New To Acne, On Brink of Sobbing, Please Help

This is quite long...but please help me if you can...

Sorry if my title is a bit dramatic, but I am truly new to acne and am basically holing myself up on a Saturday evening, feeling depressed and antisocial.

My background is this:

-26 year old female, never had teenage acne, never had any sort of break out, have been sleeping with makeup on for years, I'd pick at tiny clogged pores and the inflammation and irritation would go away within an hour or two. I've never had any history of acne, and even got compliments on my skin all the time.

-Been on Yasmin birth control for over 6 years. I have very slight androgenetic alopecia (female pattern baldness -- not noticeable to people but of course I see it) that is genetic and triggered by iron deficiency. I found out around 18, went to derms, endocrinologists, got all my hormones tested, etc. and found nothing abnormal with my hormones/hormonal levels (no excess angrogens). Unfortunately, I am just someone who is very sensitive to the slight testosterone in my body (as all women have), and have a family history of alopecia. Derm said to try Spironolactone, but I couldn't stomach it, so she suggested Yasmin because of the drospirenone, and also said it would help with my menstrual cramps.

-No family history of acne.

-All of a sudden, I broke out like crazy one month ago. On a Sunday, I had my normal, blemish free skin. By the end of the workday on Monday I had 4 painful, very bright red zits, Wednesday, I had 7, and Saturday I had 17, ALL OVER MY FACE. I was in such shock and was so depressed, I stayed home on the weekend, sobbing.