Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Dealing with

What's causing my rosacea?

hey,

could you help me pinpoint to what's causing my rosacea?

i'm a 19 year old student; i go to the gym 3-4 times a week, my diet consists mainly of potatoes with veggies and cottage cheese, pasta with cheese and aforementioned additives (veggies and cottage cheese) AND protein shakes, since i don't eat meat. so i live a relatively healthy lifestyle, yet i can't get rid of rosacea.

i went to a dermatologist back when i was living in europe and he prescribed me antibiotics, duac gel and differin; all of which helped TREMENDOUSLY at first, but now it seems that the topicals are doing more harm than good. mind you i haven't been to a dermatologist in months because i don't live in europe anymore; i just have some leftovers from what he prescribed me.

thanks!

Were you actually diagnosed with rosacea? 19 is a bit young, but not unheard of. No one knows exactly what causes rosacea. Is it a skin disease, a vascular disease, one where mites are contributing factors?

Unfortunately there is no cure for rosacea. It can be controlled, and how it is controlled can vary from individual to individual. It might involve topical applications such as metrolgel, anti-biotics, or even low doses of accutane.

We know that rosacea can be controlled and that flare-ups can be triggered by weather, food, alcohol but while there are generalities, individual triggers can vary from individual to individual. The effectiveness of treatment varies from person to person.

Your best bet is to stay out of the sun, avoid hot beverages, spicy food and alcohol, but these in and of themselves may or may not help you in your specific case.