Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
lab lover

TCA Cross- Can I do it myself??

Hey there, friends! I don't know anyone, but I think it is awesome how everyone helps each other. The plastic surgeon I saw wants me to pay $700 up front for 3 TCA Cross Treatments. I already paid $100 for the consultation fee. I really wanted to do one treatment with him, see how my skin responds, and then go from there. It kind of makes me angry that you have to pay up front. This surgeon is in Chicago and seems to be well known. Here are my questions (CAn you tell I am a teacher, I am organizing my questions)!

1) Should I go through him since I felt comfortable, or can I actually do it myself? I have probably four scars on one cheek and one or two on the other. I would definitely test one out first.

2) I know you can't be in the sun when you first have the treatment done and until the scab falls off. However, I read somewhere you can't be in the sun for 6 months. Is this true?

3) If it is true you aren't supposed to be in the sun, is it just because you can burn so much more easily? Or is this true: IT STOPS THE COLLAGEN PROCESS. YIKES! Did anyone read that in the instruction manual when you performed TCA? That is probably my biggest question.

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

I personally like your thoroughness and organized questions :) (being a former special educator myself, this skill is imperative!!)

I personally have purchased the TCA cross kit for home use, but I'm waiting to use it until I have a couple Matrix RF treatments this summer and I would prefer to use it in the winter months to lessen any possible hyper/hypo pigmentation issues that could occur. Living in the Deep South, there is not a really good way to avoid direct sunlight during the Summer and early Fall months. Better safe than sorry!