Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Miya

If you've still got acne at 26, should you just give up and go on Accutane?

Okay, i have been battling acne on and off for the past nine years now (started when i was 18), it would get better for a while but it would always come back and for the past 2 years now i have been battling it every day!!! GRRRRRRRRRRRRR. I always tried to be patient, told myself that i would wait it out and that I would grow out of it someday, well i'm 26 now and i'm still fighting acne!!! And it makes it worst that NO ONE at my work has it and i do. What i'm more worried about is the scarring and i've noticed that my once smooth skin is now becoming rough and uneven textured due to past acne scars.

I've tried retin a micro, tazorac and currently epiduo. I've been on oral antibiotics also and nothing seems to truly clear me up. My acne isn't really severe...i'd say it's more moderate, i don't have it all over my face but when i do break out, it's not a normal zit, it's more like a nodule (it's not painful, but it's more like a big round dome shape red spot that would leave a scar that would take forever to go away if at all!!). I have been debating accutane for a year now. I actually got it set up so that i would start Accutane a few months ago, but i chickened out.

Should i just give in and get accutane? Or do you think there might be a chance i would out grow it still?? Does anyone really outgrow acne if they still have it at 26??? I just want to have clear skin like everyone else i see!!!! It's really bothering me and affecting my relationships bc i would get stressed out and take it out on my boyfriend/family for no reason and i can't tell them it's because of my acne bc it seems so shallow, plus i'm too self conscious to even bring up the state of my skin.

Edited by Miya