Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
claraxrox

claraxrox accutane journey 27/f/asian

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here. :surprised:

I will be starting Accutane on the 17th of this month. I'm SOOOO excited!!

Here is my situation:

I am 27 years old (28 in April) and I've been struggling with acne since 18. I had a very mild case of acne, a pimple here and there, until about 2 years ago. I started breaking out all over my face and chest. I took tetracycline for about a month and I cleared up very nicely. I was clear for 6 months...and then about a year and a half ago, I broke out worse than before. There wasn't a clear spot on my face! I had pimples everywhere (even on my eyebrows). I took antibiotics for 4 months, and it did not help at all. My doctor told me about Accutane and so I did some research on my own over the internet. Most of the information available online about Accutane is pretty negative and scary.

Anyways...

I wasted more than a year trying to "cure" my acne on my own and trying useless products and "acne free" regimes because I was scared of Accutane. I told myself that Accutane would be my last resort..and here i am! *FINGERS CROSSED*

I have so many questions!! Your insight would be greatly appreciated!

Is there a moisturizer besides Cetaphil that will help with dry skin?

I'm so scared my hair will fall out! What will help with that?? I heard Nioxin is a good brand for that. Has anyone tried it???

I'm so excited!!! I've read some of the accutane logs and they are so helpful! :)

I will post pictures up of my face as soon as I start Accutane. ;)

That's great new that you're starting Accutane! I'm currently on Week 2! From your story, I think you made the right decision for yourself.