Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hi,

So I started to take Apple Cider Vinegar (internally), for 8 days ago. About 2-3 teaspoons in a bottle of water, every morning and evening. I have mild acne now, after finished accutane for a year ago. But after just 3-4 days on ACV I started breaking out very bad. Very similar to the initial breakout I had with accutane. My skin dries up, and it seems like the skin i purging the bad stuff.

I´ve tried to search around for similar experiences, but it seems like people doing ACV disappears from the forum after a while, or they just quit using it. So what I´m asking for is some experience with initial breakouts while on ACV. I´m still breaking out and my skin feels irritated and try. Should I continue or stop?

I've been using ACV for 4 months now.

I used to take 3 Tablespoons per day, one after each meal... To help flush out whats in my intestines. I Experienced a slight IB, but that was only really the first week or two. Then my skin calmed down again.

Honestly I don't find ACV that effective. I reduced the amount I consume daily out of pure laziness. So right now I take 2 Tablespoons before I go to bed. Then I wake up in the morning ready for a pretty large bowel movement.

I haven't stopped taking it for the sole reason that I believe my face could get worse. Right now I have mild acne, and I'm going to do everything I can; (short of topicals) to keep my face just mild.

ACV made my skin look healthier, that's for sure, but it wasn't a super cure.